The Mill of Krabat the Sorcerer

Zurück zur ÜbersichtBack to overview

The Mill of Krabat the Sorcerer

Preserving the magic

Dajće so zakuzłać – this is how the Krabat Mill in Saxon Lusatia welcomes you. Translated, the Sorbian words mean: let yourself be enchanted. The theme park does indeed have a magic inside. Based on the Black Mill, from Sorbian literature, an excursion destination has been created from historic clay half-timbered houses and new buildings matching the traditional style. A special place dedicated to Sorbian culture and the magician Krabat.

Storytelling

The legend of the mischievous wizard who helps the needy and plays tricks on the wealthy is an integral part of Sorbian culture. The figure of Krabat originated in stories about the Croatian colonel Johann Schadowitz, who found a second home here at the end of the 17th century.

Inspired by the legend, the Sorbian author Juri Brězan and the well-known children’s author Ottfried Preußler created their exciting stories of young Krabat. The boy is apprenticed to an evil sorcerer in the Black Mill in Koselbruch near Schwarzkollm. When Krabat sees through the sorcerer’s deceit, he stands up to him and heroically defeats him.

The reconstruction of the Mill of Krabat the Sorcerer in Schwarzkollm combines historical first-hand accounts, legend, literature and film as well as Sorbian culture.

Rebuilding historic half-timbered houses

The model for the literary setting was a historic mill that had fallen into disrepair. Here, the association “Krabatmühle-Schwarzkollm e.V.”, together with many volunteers and travelling craftsmen, rebuilt the Black Mill with six outbuildings and gave them modern functions.

In order to do so, they used some historic mill buildings from the surrounding area. In the Mill of Krabat the Sorcerer you can marvel at elaborate carvings, original film props from the 2008 Krabat film adaptation and historic milling technology. Adjacent, a barn from the registry of historical landmarks has been rebuilt in a clay/wood construction.

Preserving culture

Another historic mill barn now hosts events for the Sorbian community as well as theatre performances. The so-called “Observation Workshop”, which is named after the Sorbian author Juri Brězan, was once a residential house that was rebuilt on this site and is now used for demonstrations.

During the reconstruction of the historical building with its massive plinth and earthen-clay half-timbering in the upper floor and attic, it was possible to combine the historical character with the new use. Here you can Immerse yourself in Sorbian culture. Discover exhibits on traditional Sorbian dress and customs as well as regional handicrafts. Rooms for children’s and youth groups enable the passing on of traditional knowledge and handicrafts as well as the Sorbian language.

Read more »

Clay Highlight:

Traditional building – with earthen clay building materials from CLAYTEC

A few years passed between the dismantling of the historic house in its original location and its reconstruction as an “Observation Workshop”. During this time the dismantled timber frame was temporarily stored. When it was rebuilt, the frames were re-filled true to the original with earthen clay blocks from CLAYTEC.

This timelessness is the magic of clay earth building materials. Earthen clay is still used today as it was hundreds of years ago – because it has proven itself. As a moisture regulator, the clay protects the structural timber, so that no chemical wood preservative is necessary. If the original clay-earth substance is preserved, it can even be processed and reused. This recycling is only possible with clay earth.

In order to modify the demonstrations workshop as little as possible, yet still achieve today’s energy standards, the walls were clad on the inside with CLAYTEC Pavadentro wood fibre insulation boards. These drywall boards also separate the inner-wall construction from the outer plaster, so that cracks caused by movements in the timber framework are prevented.

Details:

Share your experience

Location on the map

Share what you experienced during your visit:


Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen

Request more information on the building materials

  • Half-Timber House
Please confirm that we should send you information.

Krabat Mühle

Zurück zur ÜbersichtZurück zur Übersicht

Krabat Mühle

Den Zauber bewahren

Dajće so zakuzłać – so begrüßt Sie die Krabat-Mühle in der sächsischen Lausitz. Übersetzt bedeuten die sorbischen Worte: Lassen Sie sich verzaubern. Der Erlebniswelt wohnt tatsächlich ein Zauber innen. Nach dem Vorbild der Schwarzen Mühle aus der Literatur wurde aus historischen Lehm-Fachwerkhäusern und Neubauten im traditionellen Stil, ein besonderes Ausflugsziel geschaffen. Ein besonderer Ort, der sich der sorbischen Kultur und dem Zauberer Krabat verschrieben hat.

Geschichten weitererzählen

Die Legende vom schelmischen Zauberer, der den Bedürftigen hilft und den Bessergestellten Streiche spielt, ist fester Bestandteil der sorbischen Kultur. Entstanden ist die Figur des Krabat aus Erzählungen über den kroatischen Oberist Johann Schadowitz, der Ende des 17 Jahrhunderts hier eine zweite Heimat fand.

Inspiriert durch die Sage schufen der sorbische Autor Juri Brězan und der bekannte Kinderbuchautor Ottfried Preußler ihre spannenden Geschichten vom jungen Krabat. Der Junge geht bei dem bösen Hexenmeister in der Schwarzen Mühle im Koselbruch bei Schwarzkollm in die Lehre. Als er dessen dunkles Spiel durchschaut, stellt er sich gegen seinen Lehrmeister und besiegt ihn schlussendlich.

Die Wiedererrichtung der Krabat-Mühle in Schwarzkollm verbindet historische Zeugnisse, Sage, Literatur und Film sowie die sorbische Kultur.

Historische Fachwerkhäuser wieder aufbauen

Vorbild für den literarischen Schauplatz war eine historische Mühle, die nicht mehr erhalten war. Hier baute der Verein „Krabatmühle-Schwarzkollm e.V.“ zusammen mit vielen Freiwilligen und reisenden Handwerkern die Schwarze Mühle mit sechs Nebengebäuden wieder auf und verlieh ihnen moderne Funktionen.

Dabei nutzten sie teilweise historische Mühlengebäude aus der Umgebung. In der Schwarzen Mühle können Sie aufwendige Schnitzereien, original Filmrequisiten aus der Krabat-Verfilmung von 2008 und historische Mühlentechnik bestaunen. Angrenzend wurde eine denkmalgeschützte Scheune in Lehm/Holz-Bauweise wieder errichtet.

Kultur erhalten

In einer weiteren historische Mühlenscheune finden heute Veranstaltungen der sorbischen Gemeinde sowie Theateraufführungen statt. Die Schauwerkstatt, die dem sorbischen Autor Juri Brězan gewidmet ist, war einst ein Wohnhaus, das an dieser Stelle wieder aufgebaut wurde und wird nun für Vorführungen verwendet.

Beim Wiederaufbau des denkmalgeschützten Gebäudes mit massivem Sockel und Lehm-Fachwerk im Ober- und Dachgeschoss ist es gelungen, den historischen Charakter mit der neuen Nutzung zu kombinieren. Hier tauchen Sie ganz ein in die sorbische Kultur. Entdecken Sie Ausstellungen von sorbische Trachten und Bräuche ebenso wie regionales Handwerk. Räume für Kinder- und Jugendgruppen ermöglichen die Weitergabe von traditionellem Wissen und Kunsthandwerk sowie der sorbischen Sprache.

Mehr lesen »

Lehm-Besonderheit:

Traditionell Bauen – mit Lehmbaustoffen von Claytec

Zwischen dem Abbau des historischen Wohnhauses und dem Wiederaufbau als Schauwerkstatt vergingen ein paar Jahre, in denen das zerlegte Fachwerk zwischengelagert wurde. Bei der Errichtung wurden die Gefache originalgetreu wieder mit Lehmsteinen von Claytec ausgefacht.

Diese Zeitlosigkeit ist ein Zauber des Baustoffs Lehm. Er wird heute immer noch so wie vor Hunderten von Jahren verwendet – weil er sich bewährt hat. Der Lehm schützt als Feuchteregulator das Konstruktionsholz, sodass kein chemischer Holzschutz notwendig ist. Falls die historische Lehmsubstanz erhalten ist, kann sie sogar aufbereitet und wiederverwendet werden. Dieses Recycling geht nur mit Lehm.

Um die Schauwerkstatt möglichst schonend an heutige Energiestandards anzupassen, wurden die Wände von Innen mit Claytec Pavadentro Holzfaserdämmplatten verkleidet. Gleichzeitig trennen sie Konstruktion und Oberputzt, sodass Risse durch Bewegungen im Holzfachwerk verhindert werden.

Details zum Objekt:

Objekt auf der Karte

Teilen Sie Ihre Erfahrungen zu diesem Objekt:


Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen

Mehr Informationen zu den Baustoffen anfordern

  • Fachwerk
    Trockenbau
Bitte bestätigen Sie, dass wir Ihnen Informationen zusenden sollen.