The May Farm in Kleingießhübel

Zurück zur ÜbersichtBack to overview

The May Farm in Kleingießhübel

A gem in the middle of the forest

At the foot of the “Little Zschirnstein”, a 473 metre high table mountain in Saxon Switzerland, lies Kleingießhübel, a friendly district of the municipality of Rheinhardtsdorf-Schöna. In 1824 residents had a straw-roofed half-timbered house built on the land, with arched stables for draught and breeding cattle on one side, the upper half-timbered floor resting classically on wooden round arches, connected to the outside area by a staircase. In addition, there was a barn and side building with two cellars and a shearing room. All around, nature surrounds the farm – trees, fields, forests. And the imposing sandstone rocks rising from the countryside like benign sentinels.

Old farmstead reimagined as a vacation home
To this day, this little piece of land is a gem. One reason why Dörte Wolf fell in love with Saxon Switzerland on her very first visit – and stayed. In 2010, she and her husband Steffen bought the farmstead which is named after the previous owners. Thus, a lifelong dream came true. In the following years, the couple created an original vacation home, which the two of them have been renting out since 2014. Nature lovers in particular appreciate the original character of the farm, which the owners have consciously preserved.

Built with earthen clay – then and now

The half-timbered house combines masonry and log construction on the first floor in the form of a sandstone vaulted chamber (the former stables) and a timber-frame log room on the upper floor. In order to highlight these special features of the house, the couple adapted their plans for the renovation. The natural building materials of yesteryear were to be used again, especially clay earth. It was the right decision, says Dörte Wolf: “During the renovation, we already started noticing the pleasant differences to other building materials. Immediately, there was great air quality, the smell was much more pleasant, and the handling was simple. In case of unevenness or cracks, you can always re-moisten clay and smooth it out. That fascinated me.“

Cosiness inside and outside

Today, the farmhouse has slate siding, its timber framing is brown-white, and the parlour has lattice windows with green wooden shutters. The upper floor houses a vacation rental room with a pantry kitchen and small shower room as well as a full vacation apartment with eat-in kitchen, bedroom, and a bright and spacious bathroom. Light wooden floorboards and wooden beams left visible in the clay plaster provide homey charm. Each wall has a different subtle colour. Furnishings, lovingly combined from old and new, complete the cosy ambience. Nature adds the finishing touch: Five hectares of wooded land on a slope await behind the 3,600-square-meter farm. Behind the barn, there is an annex open on one side with glass church-style windows. From there, guests can look out onto a fire pit and the camping meadow behind it, where travellers are allowed to pitch their tents: The May Farm is a partner of the Forststeig Elbsandstein trekking route. Every year, on the last Sunday in May, the Wolfs host a farm festival as a part of Open-House Day for half-timber houses. Other local residents participate as well, putting on a farmers‘ market.

Read more »

Clay Highlight:

Renovating true to the original – with clay earth

Ecological considerations were the first priority in the construction done on the vacation apartment as well as in the renovation of the vacation rental room. For the restoration of the vacation home, all gypsum-plaster walls in the vaulted chamber rooms were removed. The wooden beams were left visible and the spaces in this wooden framework were filled with CLAYTEC Clay Blocks Light and plastered with clay-earth plaster. The result: natural, breathable walls with an agricultural-estate flair. On the inside of the exterior walls, CLAYTEC Clay Blocks Light form the base for a space-saving wall heating system. This was plastered with clay earth and each wall was painted in a different shade with CLAYFIX clay paint. In the sandstone vaulted chamber, a common room and a handicapped-accessible bathroom were created with partition walls made using CLAYTEC Drywall Clayboards. CLAYTEC Clay Undercoat Plaster with Straw was applied over the drywall. There as well, the couple added colour accents with CLAYFIX clay paint.

Details:

Location on the map

Share what you experienced during your visit:


Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen

Request more information on the building materials

  • Half-Timber House
    Fine-Finish Surfaces
    Clay Plaster
    Clay Drybuilding
Please confirm that we should send you information.

Maienhof Kleingießhübel

Zurück zur ÜbersichtZurück zur Übersicht

Maienhof Kleingießhübel

Ein Kleinod mitten im Grünen

Am Fuß des Kleinen Zschirnsteins, einem 473 Meter hohen Tafelberg in der Sächsischen Schweiz, liegt Kleingießhübel, ein freundlicher Ortsteil der Gemeinde Rheinhardtsdorf-Schöna. Auf einem Stück Land ließen Ansässige 1824 ein mit Stroh gedecktes Umgebindehaus errichten, mit gewölbten Ställen für Zug- und Zuchtvieh an einer Seite, das obere Fachwerk-Geschoss klassisch auf hölzernen Rundbögen ruhend, über eine Treppe mit dem Außengelände verbunden. Zusätzlich gab es eine Scheune sowie ein Seitengebäude mit zwei Kellern und einer Schirrkammer. Rundherum: Natur – Bäume, Felder, Wälder. Und die imposanten Sandsteinfelsen, die aus dem Landstrich aufragen wie gutmütige Wächter.

Altes Gehöft als Feriendomizil

Bis heute ist dieses Fleckchen Erde ein Kleinod. Ein Grund, aus dem sich Dörte Wolf schon bei ihrem ersten Besuch in die Sächsische Schweiz verliebte – und blieb. 2010 kauften sie und ihr Ehemann Steffen das Gehöft, benannt nach der alten Besitzerfamilie. Damit ging ein Lebenstraum in Erfüllung. In den nachfolgenden Jahren schuf das Paar vor Ort ein originäres Feriendomizil, das es seit 2014 vermietet. Insbesondere Naturfreunde schätzen den ursprünglichen Charakter der Anlage, den die Bauherren bewusst bewahrt haben.

Mit Lehm gebaut – damals wie heute

Das Umgebindehaus verbindet im Erdgeschoss Massiv- und Blockbauweise in Form eines Sandsteingewölbes (einst der Stall) und einer Blockstube mit Fachwerk im Obergeschoss. Um die besonderen Eigenschaften in Szene zu setzen, passte das Ehepaar die Renovierungsmaßnahmen auf die Objektansprüche an. Die natürlichen Baumaterialien von damals sollten erneut zum Einsatz kommen, insbesondere Lehm. Die richtige Entscheidung, sagt Dörte Wolf: „Schon bei der Renovierung fiel uns der angenehme Unterschied zu anderen Baumaterialien auf. Es entstand sofort ein tolles Klima, der Geruch war viel angenehmer, die Handhabung einfach. Bei Unebenheiten oder Rissen kann man Lehm immer wieder befeuchten und glattstreichen. Das hat mich fasziniert.“

Behaglichkeit innen und außen

Inzwischen ist das Bauernhaus mit Schiefer gedeckt, sein Fachwerk Braun-Weiß, der Stubenkörper besitzt Sprossenfenster mit grünen Holzläden. Das Obergeschoss beherbergt ein Ferienzimmer mit Pantryküche und kleinem Duschbad sowie eine Ferienwohnung mit Wohnküche, Schlafzimmer und geräumigem Tageslichtbad. Helle Holzdielen und im Lehmputz sichtbar gelassene Holzbalken verbreiten heimeligen Charme. Jede Wand hat eine andere dezente Farbe. Einrichtungsgegenstände, liebevoll aus alt und neu kombiniert, vollenden das behagliche Ambiente. Die Natur tut ihr übriges: Hinter dem 3.600 Quadratmeter großen Hof warten fünf Hektar bewaldetes Land in Hanglage. Hinter der Scheune befindet sich ein nach einer Seite offener Anbau mit Glaskirchenfenstern. Von dort blickt man auf eine Feuerstelle und die dahinter liegende Zeltwiese, auf der Reisende campen dürfen: Der Maienhof ist Partner der Trekkingroute Forststeig Elbsandstein. An jedem letzten Sonntag im Mai lädt das Ehepaar Wolf im Rahmen des Tages des offenen Umgebindehauses zum Hoffest, an dem sich auch weitere Ortsbewohner mit einem Natur- und Bauernmarkt beteiligen.

Mehr lesen »

Lehm-Besonderheit:

Originalgetreu sanieren mit Lehm

Ökologische Gesichtspunkte standen beim Bau der Ferienwohnung und der Renovierung des Ferienzimmers an erster Stelle. Für die Sanierung der Ferienwohnung wichen sämtliche Gipswände der ehemals kammerartigen Räume. Die Holzbalken beließen die Bauherren sichtbar, füllten die Zwischenräume mit CLAYTEC Lehmstein leicht und brachten Lehmputz auf. Das Ergebnis: natürliche, atmungsaktive Zimmerwände im Gutshof-Flair. An den Innenseiten der Außenwände bilden CLAYTEC Lehmsteine leicht den Untergrund für eine platzsparende Wandheizung. Diese wurde mit Lehm verputzt und jede Wand mit CLAYFIX Lehm-Anstrich in einer anderen Nuance gestrichen. Im Sandsteingewölbe entstanden ein Gemeinschaftsraum und ein behindertengerechtes Bad mit Zwischenwänden aus CLAYTEC Lehmbauplatten. Darauf wurde CLAYTEC Lehm-Unterputz mit Stroh aufgebracht. Farb-Akzente setzte das Ehepaar auch dort mit CLAYFIX Lehm-Anstrich.

Details zum Objekt:

Objekt auf der Karte

Teilen Sie Ihre Erfahrungen zu diesem Objekt:


Weitere Objekte in dieser Region:

Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen

Mehr Informationen zu den Baustoffen anfordern

  • Fachwerk
    Feine Oberflächen
    Lehmputz
    Trockenbau
Bitte bestätigen Sie, dass wir Ihnen Informationen zusenden sollen.