Stone Sculpture Museum

Zurück zur ÜbersichtBack to overview

Stone Sculpture Museum

Back to its roots

“You borrow the place where you build from nature.” It’s this conviction that guides the work of Japanese architect Tadao Ando. You can see it in his buildings. Born in 1941, the autodidact designs them in symbiosis with the surrounding landscape, for whose individual magic he demonstrates a fine sense. None of his building components stands alone, but communicates with the others, through material, construction, and placement. Together they all send out messages.

Stone – fascinating matter

The message of the Stone Sculpture Museum in Bad Kreuznach which bears the signature of the international award-winning architect? An invitation to indulge in the fascination of stone. In the midst of a terrain that is, as it were, shaped by this elementary material: In a northerly direction, the Rotenfelsen (Red Rock) towers majestically above the roughly 15,000-square-meter site with its dozens of stone sculptures. From 1968 to 2001, the open-air studio of the sculptor couple Anna Kubach-Wilmsen (1937-2021) and Wolfgang Kubach (1936-2007) was located there. In 1998, the couple donated the area to create what is now the Sculpture Park. Centrepiece of the project is the museum building, designed by Tadao Ando as a replica of a half-timbered barn, typical of the Hunsrück region, from the 18th century. In 2010 the world’s only contemporary stone sculpture museum opened to visitors.

An inner relation to the earth

Admittedly, it is not quite a barn in the classic sense, with its two extraordinary museum courtyards, one with a water surface, one with gravel, its mezzanine, the many windows, the glazed gables, and free-standing exposed concrete walls, whose visual axes play with the visitor’s gaze and open it up to the natural surroundings. The architect is known for combining traditional with modern elements: The museum’s concrete base appears cool, with its clear geometry and, according to Tadao Ando, at the same time it is delicate, “smooth like velvet” and “soft like water”. The upper part of the structure, with its wooden beams painted in a strong brown, the timber frames, and the slate roof, all of it characteristic of half-timber building, forms a pristine contrast. Clay earth, in the interior walls and the timber frame, enhances the rustic feel and naturalness. Which building material, after all, is more closely related to the earth which produced the minerals and rocks exhibited in and around the museum? A visit to the museum is a stroll among these stony witnesses of time while drinking in the atmospheric scenery of a spa town, and being charmed by the surrounding vineyards, cliffs and forest. The exhibits, all of them impressive sculptures by the artist couple Kubach-Wilmsen, come from all continents of the world: marble, river rock, granite, given shape as a book tower, a bridge, a blackboard. Exhibited in order to tell their own story and to make the fascinating relationship between earth and stone tangible.

Visitor Tip: On July 4th, the anniversary exhibition TADAO ANDO / MUSEEN / RICHARD PARE opened.

Read more »

Clay Highlight:

Authentic appearance and optimum climate with CLAYTEC clay block

Especially in a building as uniquely in harmony with nature as the Stone Sculpture Museum, clay earth, the most natural of all building materials, keeps architectural tradition alive and creates a new context. In timber frame restoration work, clay earth plays a supporting role: The building material harmonizes excellently with wood and shields it from environmental influences like no other. The experts from the Otterberg craftsman company Lehmbau Pritzl filled the framework of the sides of the former barn with CLAYTEC Light Clay Blocks NF1200 and Lightweight Clay Masonry Mortar. For natural thermal insulation in the building interior, they applied CLAYTEC Reed Boards to the clay blocks and plastered over them with CLAYTEC Clay Undercoat Plaster with Straw as well as CLAYTEC Clay Topcoat fine 06 to ensure ideal moisture exchange and create a sustainable healthy indoor air quality.

Details:

Share your experience

Location on the map

Share what you experienced during your visit:


Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen

Request more information on the building materials

  • Half-Timber House
    Insulation
    Clay Plaster
Please confirm that we should send you information.

Steinskulpturenmuseum

Zurück zur ÜbersichtZurück zur Übersicht

Steinskulpturenmuseum

Zurück zum Ursprung

„Man leiht sich den Ort, an dem man baut, von der Natur aus.“ Nach dieser Überzeugung arbeitet der japanische Architekt Tadao Ando. Seinen Bauwerken merkt man das an. Der 1941 geborene Baukünstler konzipiert sie in Symbiose mit der umliegenden Landschaft, für deren individuellen Zauber er ein feines Gespür beweist. Keine seiner Gebäudekomponenten steht allein für sich, sondern kommuniziert mit den anderen, über Material, Aufbau, Platzierung. Und alle gemeinsam senden sie Botschaften aus.

Stein – faszinierende Materie

Die Botschaft des Steinskulpturenmuseums im rheinland-pfälzischen Bad Kreuznach, das die Handschrift des international ausgezeichneten Architekten trägt? Die Einladung, sich der Faszination Stein hinzugeben. Inmitten eines Terrains, das gleichsam von dieser elementaren Materie geprägt ist: In Nordrichtung thront majestätisch der Rotenfelsen über dem rund 15.000 Quadratmeter großen Gelände mit seinen Dutzenden Steinskulpturen. Von 1968 bis 2001 befand sich dort das Freilichtatelier des Bildhauer-Ehepaares Anna Kubach-Wilmsen (1937-2021) und Wolfgang Kubach (1936-2007). 1998 stifteten die beiden das Areal, um den heutigen Skulpturenpark zu erschaffen. Herzstück des Projekts ist das Museumsgebäude, entworfen von Tadao Ando als Nachbau einer regionaltypischen Hunsrücker Fachwerkscheune aus dem 18. Jahrhundert. 2010 öffnete das bislang einzige zeitgenössische Steinskulpturenmuseum der Welt für Besucher.

Inniger Bezug zum Erdreich

Es ist freilich keine ganz klassische Bauernscheune mit ihren zwei außergewöhnlichen Museumshöfen, einer mit Wasserspiegel, einer mit Kies, mit ihrem Zwischengeschoss, den vielen Fenstern, den verglasten Giebeln und freistehenden Sichtbeton-Mauern, deren Sichtachsen mit dem Blick der Besucher spielen und ihn auch für die umliegende Natur öffnen. Der Architekt ist dafür bekannt, traditionelle mit modernen Elementen zu kombinieren: Der Betonsockel des Museums wirkt in seiner klaren Geometrie kühl, ist Tadao Ando zufolge gleichzeitig fein, „glatt wie Samt“ und „weich wie Wasser“. Der obere Teil mit den für den Fachwerkbau charakteristischen, in kräftigem Braun gestrichenen Holzbalken, den Gefachen und dem Schieferdach bildet einen ursprünglichen Kontrast. Lehm, etwa in den Innenwänden und den Gefachen, verstärkt die urige Anmutung und die Natürlichkeit. Denn welches Baumaterial hat einen innigeren Bezug zum Erdreich, das ja auch die im und um das Museum ausgestellten Mineralien und Gesteine hervorgebracht hat? – Der Museumsbesuch ist ein Wandeln zwischen steinernen Zeitzeugen in der stimmungsvollen Szenerie des romantischen Kurortes, umschmeichelt von Weinbergen, Felsen und Wald. Die Exponate, allesamt beeindruckende Skulpturen des Künstlerpaares Kubach-Wilmsen, stammen von allen Kontinenten der Welt: Marmor, Flussstein, Granit, in Form gebracht als Bücherturm, Brücke, Tafel. Ausgestellt, um eine eigene Geschichte zu erzählen und die reizvolle Beziehung zwischen Erde und Stein erlebbar zu machen.
Besuchertipp: Am 4. Juli eröffnete die Jubiläumsausstellung TADAO ANDO / MUSEEN / RICHARD PARE.

Mehr lesen »

Lehm-Besonderheit:

Authentische Anmutung und optimales Klima mit CLAYTEC Lehmstein

Gerade in einem so einzigartig im Einklang mit der Natur inszenierten Gebäude wie dem Steinskulpturenmuseum hält Lehm als Natürlichstes aller Baumaterialien die architektonische Tradition lebendig und schafft einen neuen Kontext. Bei der Fachwerksanierung kommt Lehm eine tragende Rolle zu: Der Baustoff harmoniert hervorragend mit Holz und schirmt es von Umwelteinflüssen ab wie kein anderer. Die Traufseiten der ehemaligen Scheune mauerten die Experten des Handwerksunternehmens Lehmbau Pritzl aus Otterberg mit CLAYTEC Lehmstein leicht NF1200 und Lehm-Mauermörtel leicht aus. Für eine natürliche Wärmedämmung im Innenbereich brachten sie CLAYTEC Schilfrohrleichtbauplatten auf die Lehmsteine auf, verputzt mit CLAYTEC Lehm-Unterputz mit Stroh sowie CLAYTEC Lehm-Oberputz fein 06, um einen optimalen Feuchtigkeitsaustausch zu gewährleisten und ein nachhaltig gesundes Raumklima zu schaffen.

Details zum Objekt:

Objekt auf der Karte

Teilen Sie Ihre Erfahrungen zu diesem Objekt:


Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen

Mehr Informationen zu den Baustoffen anfordern

  • Fachwerk
    Innendämmung
    Lehmputz
Bitte bestätigen Sie, dass wir Ihnen Informationen zusenden sollen.