Arnstadt Townhouse Hotel

Zurück zur ÜbersichtBack to overview

Arnstadt Townhouse Hotel

Clay as a key to history

When it comes to restoration of a protected landmark building, many people throw up their hands in frustration. Not so Judith Rüber and Dr. Jan Kobel. Their enthusiasm and commitment to the faithful refurbishment of their hotel building from 1582 are inspiring. As a photographer and author of photo books and culinary travel literature, the owners are also very familiar with traveling. So you are not only welcomed to their charming hotel but also on a journey back in time to the Renaissance and the Baroque period.

From the present back to the era of Johann Sebastian Bach

With the key to the “Renaissance Room” or “Large Baroque Room,” you also get access to the time of Johann Sebastian Bach. From 1703-1707 he was an organist in Arnstadt, Thuringia – a picturesque place southwest of Erfurt. Thanks to the renovation, in which modern clay construction and historical craftsmanship complement each other perfectly, the varied history of the magnificent half-timbered house comes back to life.

During the restoration, which complies with the requirements for historical landmarks, every effort was made to preserve and re-use as much as possible of the original building materials. So the old clay-straw mixture in the walls was scraped out, prepared with modern clay building materials and reused. This ecological and preservation compatible approach is only possible with clay.

Shortly after completion, the work was awarded the top prize for craftsmanship in architectural historical preservation (Bundespreis für Handwerk in der Denkmalpflege) by the German Historical Preservation Society. The Thuringia Historical Preservation prize followed in 2014.

The clay-plastered interior walls with in-wall heating combine historical knowledge of healthy living with modern comforts. Enjoy the advantages of heating with radiant heat and the pleasant room climate that is created by the moisture-regulating effect of the clay.

From magnificent residence to factory building to hotel

In Johann Sebastian Bach’s time, the Arnstadt Townhouse had already stood for over 100 years. It had been built after a devastating fire, by landowner Cuntz Friedrich who commissioned the renaissance style three-storey half-timbered house be built on a vaulted cellar that was 150 years old at the time. Over the following centuries, there were many owners – including Countess Johanna Elisabeth. She not only expanded the house in the baroque style, but also regularly listened to Johann Sebastian Bach’s music at court.

From the middle of the eighteenth century, the house’s history took several different turns: the half-timbered house became a cabinet of curiosities, a girls’ school and a bank. In 1870 the Möller‘sche glove factory moved in. An additional neighbouring factory building was built in 1903. With the reunification of Germany, this chapter came to an end – and with it nearly the history of the house.

It was not until 2005 that the historic buildings were brought back to life. Since 2013 the townhouse has been available to welcome visitors.

Read more »

Clay Highlight:

Breathe in only history – thanks to clay plaster from Claytec

In the Arnstadt Townhouse Hotel, clay was used as a building material for the exterior and interior walls. The interior walls of the former factory building – today a residential building, studio and event location – was also plastered with clay. Apart from the desire for a restoration that was as true to the original as possible, clay was also an attractive option as a healthy and regional building material. For the wall surfaces of the guest rooms, the owner and their craftsmen opted for Clay topcoat fine 06 from Claytec. The thin-layer plaster is applied 2-3 mm thick. Due to its good workability it can also be used over various surfaces, such as wooden building elements.

Details:

Location on the map

Share what you experienced during your visit:


Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen

Request more information on the building materials

  • Half-Timber House
    Fine-Finish Surfaces
    Clay Plaster
Please confirm that we should send you information.

Hotel Stadthaus Arnstadt

Zurück zur ÜbersichtZurück zur Übersicht

Hotel Stadthaus Arnstadt

Lehm lässt Sie in die Geschichte eintauchen

Beim Thema Denkmalschutz schlagen viele die Hände über dem Kopf zusammen. Nicht so Judith Rüber und Dr. Jan Kobel. Lassen Sie sich von ihrer Begeisterung und ihrem Engagement bei der substanzbewahrenden Sanierung ihres Hotels aus dem Jahr 1582 anstecken. Als Fotograf und Autorin von Bildbänden und kulinarischer Reiseliteratur kennen sich die Besitzer auch mit dem Reisen bestens aus. In ihrem Hotel laden Sie sie auch auf eine Reise in die Zeit der Renaissance und des Barock ein.

Von der Gegenwart direkt in die Zeit Johann Sebastian Bachs

Mit dem Schlüssel zum „Renaissancezimmer“ oder „großen Barockzimmer“ erhalten Sie Zutritt auch in die Zeit Johann Sebastian Bachs. Er war von 1703-1707 Organist im thüringischen Arnstadt  – einem malerischen Ort südwestlich von Erfurt, in dem viele Musiker der Familie Bach lebten und wirkten.

Dank der denkmalgerechten Sanierung, bei der sich moderner Lehmbau und historische Verarbeitung optimal ergänzten, wird die abwechslungsreiche Geschichte des prächtigen Fachwerkhauses wieder lebendig.

Ziel war es, möglichst viel von der historischen Substanz zu erhalten und wieder Instant zusetzten. So wurde das alte Lehm-Stroh-Gemisch der Gefache herausgekratzt, eingesumpft, mit modernen Lehmbaustoffen aufbereitet und wiederverwendet. Dieses denkmalgerechte und ökologische Vorgehen ist nur mit Lehm möglich.

Breits kurz nach der Fertigstellung wurden Bauherren und Betriebe mit dem Bundespreis für Handwerk in der Denkmalpflege der Deutschen Stiftung Denkmalschutz ausgezeichnet. 2014 folgt der Thüringische Denkmalschutzpreis.

Die lehmverputzten Innenwände mit Wandheizung kombinieren das historische Wissen um gesundes Wohnen mit moderner Behaglichkeit. Genießen sie die Vorteile einer Heizung mit Strahlungswärme und das angenehme Raumklima, das durch die feuchteregulierende Wirkung des Lehms entsteht.

Vom prächtigen Stadthaus zum Fabrikgebäude und zum Hotel

Zu Zeiten Johann Sebastian Bachs stand das Stadthaus Arnstadt bereits seit über 100 Jahren.  Der Landwirt Cuntz Friedrich ließ es 1582 nach einem verheerenden Brand auf einem damals schon 150 Jahre alten Gewölbekeller das dreigeschossige Fachwerkhaus im Renaissancestil errichten. Über die folgenden Jahrhunderte wechselten die Besitzer – darunter Gräfin Johanna Elisabeth. Sie erweiterte nicht nur das Wohnhaus im barocken Stil, sondern hörte regelmäßig am Hofe die Musik Johann Sebastian Bachs.

Ab Mitte des achtzehnten Jahrhunderts nahm die Geschichte immer neue Wendungen: Das Fachwerkhaus wurde Wunderkammer, Mädchenschule und Sparkasse. 1870 zog die Möller‘sche Handschuhfabrik ein. Das benachbarte Fabrikgebäude wurde 1903 errichtet. Mit der Wende nahm dieses Kapitel ein Ende – und fast auch die Geschichte des Hauses.

Erst 2005 wurde das historische Ensemble wieder zum Leben erweckt. Seit 2013 können Sie an diesem besonderen Ort übernachten.

Mehr lesen »

Lehm-Besonderheit:

Atmen sie Geschichte dank Lehmputz von CLAYTEC

Im Denkmal Hotel Stadthaus Arnstadt kam Lehm als Baustoff für die Außen- und Innenwände zum Einsatz. Auch die Innenwände des ehemaligen Fabrikgebäudes – heute Wohnhaus, Atelier und Veranstaltungsort – wurden mit Lehm verputzt. Abgesehen von dem Wunsch nach einer möglichst originalgetreuen Restaurierung überzeugte Lehm auch als baugesunder und regionaler Baustoff. Für die Wandoberflächen der Gästezimmer entschieden sich Bauherren und Fachhandwerker für Lehm-Oberputz fein 06 von CLAYTEC. Der einlagige Dünnlagenputz wird 2-3 mm stark aufgetragen. Durch seine gute Verarbeitbarkeit kann er exakt z.B. an Holzbauteile angearbeitet werden.

Details zum Objekt:

Erfahrungen teilen

Objekt auf der Karte

Teilen Sie Ihre Erfahrungen zu diesem Objekt:


Weitere Objekte in dieser Region:

Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen

Mehr Informationen zu den Baustoffen anfordern

  • Fachwerk
    Feine Oberflächen
    Lehmputz
Bitte bestätigen Sie, dass wir Ihnen Informationen zusenden sollen.