Sauerland Museum

Zurück zur ÜbersichtBack to overview

Sauerland Museum

Learning from (building) history

The Sauerland is a real holiday location insider tip. In winter, skiing and sledding slopes attract visitors, in summer there are many hiking trails and reservoir lakes to explore. If you want to learn more about the region, the Sauerland Museum is the place to go. It documents the history of the region from the Palaeolithic Age to the present day. The museum complex itself is also a mixture of old and new. During the extensive renovation of the historical section of the museum, earthen clay plaster was used to bridge the gap between the ages.

Historical: from lovers hideaway to museum

The museum’s permanent exhibition is located in the historical Landsberger Hof city palace. The prince-elector, Ernst of Bavaria, had it built in 1605 in the French style for his mistress Gertrud von Plettenberg. Over the centuries, the building was used for a variety of purposes before it housed the museum, starting in 1937.

In keeping with its objective of documenting the history of the Sauerland, the museum and its exhibition are also constantly developing. The museum went through a functional phase in which the historical charm of the palace building was lost, through the use of drop-down ceilings and the like. However, in 2018, the building and the permanent exhibition were modernised and updated for today’s modern tastes.

Current: traditional building material with contemporary properties

As is in keeping with the understanding of our times, as much reference as possible was made to the original design of the palace during the conversion and renovation. Almost all walls in the entire building were plastered with clay earth – a building material that has a long-standing tradition in the construction of timber frame buildings in the Sauerland region.

Today this natural building material is more relevant than ever. Clay earth regulates air humidity by intercalating water molecules between the clay particles. This process is also reversible – that is, when the humidity drops, the water molecules are released back into the room air.

In a history museum displaying a range of exhibits, the room climate must remain as constant as possible. The fluctuating number of visitors poses a challenge to maintaining this constancy. However, the earthen-clay plaster of the exhibit room walls works to balance these changes to the room climate.

Modern: An extension and architectural highlight

If you appreciate modern architecture, you will also get your money’s worth at the Sauerland Museum. In 2019, a modern new museum building was added to the historical building by the architectural offices of bez+kock.

The new building is divided into three structures that descend down the cliff edge to the Ruhr River. A bridge was also built, connecting the old and new buildings. Temporary exhibitions and modern museum educational programmes are located here.

Photos 2-7 ©Julia Gehrmann

Read more »

Clay Highlight:

Timeless: Clay plasters from Claytec

As an all-natural and humidity-regulating building material, clay earth is a vital part of a forward-looking architectural approach. It supplies low-tech solutions for building that are as climate-friendly as they are user-friendly.

During the museum renovation, the walls in Landsberger Hof were given a base coat of clay with straw as a textural add-in. The thick-layer plaster can be applied in a thickness of up to 35 mm. This makes it ideal for pairing with in-wall heating systems and for levelling uneven walls.

A clay-earth topcoat plaster, also with a textural straw add-in, was used as the surface in some areas. In others, clay plaster Mineral 20 was used. YOSIMA clay designer plaster in either white or Kolumba grey gives the walls a fine finish. The coloured plaster doesn’t contain any dyes or pigments but uses the natural colour range of clay earth available.

Details:

Location on the map

Share what you experienced during your visit:


Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen

Request more information on the building materials

  • Half-Timber House
    Fine-Finish Surfaces
    Clay Plaster
Please confirm that we should send you information.

Sauerland-Museum

Zurück zur ÜbersichtZurück zur Übersicht

Sauerland-Museum

Aus der (Bau-)Geschichte lernen

Das Sauerland ist ein echter Ferien-Geheimtipp. Im Winter locken Ski- und Rodelpisten, im Sommer viele Wanderrouten und Stauseen. Wenn Sie mehr über die Region erfahren wollen, sind Sie im Sauerland-Museum richtig. Es dokumentiert die Geschichte der Region von der Altsteinzeit bis heute. Das Museum selbst ist bereits eine Mischung aus Alt und Neu. Und auch bei der umfangreichen Renovierung des Altbaus schlug man mit Lehmputz die Brücke über die Zeiten.

Historisch: Vom Liebesschloss zum Museum

Die Dauerausstellung des Museums finden Sie im historischen Stadtpalais Landsberger Hof. Der Kurfürst Ernst von Bayern ließ es im Jahr 1605 nach französischem Vorbild für seine Geliebte Gertrud von Plettenberg errichten. Über die Jahrhunderte beherbergte das Gebäude unterschiedlichste Nutzungen, bevor es 1937 zum Sitz des Museums wurde.

Dem Anspruch folgend, die Geschichte des Sauerlandes zu dokumentieren, entwickelten sich auch das Museum und seine Ausstellung mit der Zeit. Nach einer funktionalen Phase, in der beispielsweise die Decken abgehängt wurden und so der historische Charme verloren ging, wurden das Haus und die Ausstellung 2018 modernisiert und an heutige Ansprüche angepasst.

Aktuell: traditioneller Baustoff mit zeitgemäßen Eigenschaften

Wie es dem Verständnis unserer Zeit entspricht, wurde bei Umbau und Renovierung möglichst viel Bezug auf den ursprünglichen Zustand genommen. Fast alle Wände im gesamten Haus wurden mit Lehm verputzt – ein Baumaterial, dass in der Fachwerkregion Sauerland eine lange Tradition hat.

Der natürliche Baustoff ist heute aktueller denn je. Er reguliert die Luftfeuchtigkeit, indem Wassermoleküle zwischen die Tonplättchen eingelagert werden. Dieser Vorgang ist reversibel – das heißt, bei sinkender Luftfeuchtigkeit gehen die Wassermoleküle wieder in die Raumluft über.

In einem Geschichtsmuseum mit ganz unterschiedlichen Exponaten sollte das Raumklima möglichst konstant bleiben. Doch die schwankende Besucherfrequenz erschwert das. Hier kann Lehmputz ausgleichend wirken.

Modern: Architektur-Highlight als Erweiterung

Wenn Sie moderne Architektur schätzen, kommen Sie im Sauerland-Museum auch auf Ihre Kosten. 2019 wurde der Altbau um einen modernen Museumsneubau von dem Architekturbüro bez+kock ergänzt.

Das neue Gebäude ist in drei Baukörper unterteilt, die sich die Felskante zur Ruhr hinunter abtreppen. Eine Brücke verbindet Alt- und Neubau. Wechselausstellungen und moderne museumspädagogische Angebote haben hier ihren Platz gefunden.

Fotos 2-7 ©Julia Gehrmann

 

Mehr lesen »

Lehm-Besonderheit:

Zeitlos: Lehmputze von Claytec

Lehm ist als natürlicher und raumluftregulierender Baustoff ein wichtiger Bestandteil einer zukunftsweisenden Architektur. Lehm setzt auf sogenannte Low-Tech-Lösungen für ebenso klima- wie nutzerfreundliches Bauen.

Bei der Renovierung des Museums erhielten die Wände im Landsberger Hof einen Unterputz aus Lehm mit Stroh als Strukturzuschlag. Der dicklagige Putz kann in einer Stärke von bis zu 35 mm aufgetragen werden. Damit ist er auch ideal für die Paarung mit Wandheizungen und zum Ausgleich von unebenen Wänden.

Als Deckputz kam Lehm-Oberputz, ebenfalls mit Strukturzuschlag Stroh, in manchen Bereichen zum Einsatz. In anderen Bereichen wurde Lehmputz Mineral 20 verwendet. YOSIMA Lehm-Designputz in weiß oder Kolumbagrau verleiht den Wänden ein feines Finish. Der farbige Putz enthält keine Farbstoffe oder Pigmente, sondern nutzt die natürliche Farbigkeit der Tonerden.

Details zum Objekt:

Objekt auf der Karte

Teilen Sie Ihre Erfahrungen zu diesem Objekt:


Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen

Mehr Informationen zu den Baustoffen anfordern

  • Fachwerk
    Feine Oberflächen
    Lehmputz
Bitte bestätigen Sie, dass wir Ihnen Informationen zusenden sollen.