Order of Malta Ehreshoven Chapter

Zurück zur ÜbersichtBack to overview

Order of Malta Ehreshoven Chapter

Building appreciation

The Order of Malta dates back to a hospital for pilgrims in Jerusalem. Around 1080, Blessed Fra’ Gerard took over the management, formed the community and opened the hospital to all who were in need of help. For him, acts of charity were an expression of his faith. You will see a small statue of the Order’s founder on the fountain in the inner courtyard of the Order of Malta Chapter in Ehreshoven near Cologne. But not only that. The appreciation for fellow human beings and nature as God’s work is also evident in other ways. One of these is the use of earthen clay as a building material.

With the flow of time

In the Order of Malta Chapter complex with its striking red plaster façade, you can hold meetings and celebrations, but also reflect and relax – or all of the above. The heart of the conference venue and hotel is the old manor house of Ehreshoven Castle. The baroque moated castle is only a stone’s throw away.

Two of the estate’s historic buildings were supplemented with a new U-shaped building. A former outbuilding was integrated into the new architecture. The architecture of the new building makes reference to the two existing buildings with its storey height and gabled roof. The ground floor consists of natural stone masonry, the upper floor and the attic are half-timbered.

Clay earth was used as a building material in the reconstruction. As a traditional building material, clay earth is ideal for the faithful renovation of historical buildings. In half-timbered construction, the wooden framework can be filled with clay bricks or earth-moist clay. But even solid walls can be given a fitting finish using clay plaster.

Amidst nature

Earth as a building material not only suits the Order of Malta as a historical building material but also because of its naturalness and its advantages for healthy construction. Although the focus of the Christian community is primarily on its fellow human beings, nature is also held in high esteem – the two are inextricably linked.

The Chapter’s location on the banks of the Agger River, surrounded by the rolling hills and green forests of the Bergisches Land region, allows you to leave the stress and the hectic pace of life behind. Inside, clay earth lends the rooms a pleasant air quality by regulating the humidity.

A moment of reflection – or two

In addition to the natural surroundings and the rooms decorated in sunny earth tones, the chapel offers you a place of peace and spirituality. It was decorated by the Chilean artist Maria J. Fernandez. Here, as in the whole complex, concentration, and contemplation, creativity and community meet.

Read more »

Clay Highlight:

Valuable for renovation and new construction – clay building materials from Claytec

In the past, clay earth was processed directly from the ground as a regional building material. Theoretically, this is still possible today. However, building materials today have to meet strict standards and requirements. This also applies to clay earth.

Clay plasters and clay blocks from Claytec meet these requirements while remaining natural and are therefore ideal for the faithful renovation of historical buildings. Natural additives such as straw and coloured clays can be used to control the properties and appearance of the finished building material. New buildings also benefit from this, for example, as a decorative and healthy interior plaster.

Claytec also offers clay earth building materials for modern construction methods such as drywall construction. The combination with in-wall heating has also proven successful in modern building with earthen clay. The thermal storage property of earthen clay results in pleasant radiant heat.

Details:

Location on the map

Share what you experienced during your visit:


Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen

Request more information on the building materials

  • Half-Timber House
    Insulation
    Clay Plaster
Please confirm that we should send you information.

Malteser Kommende Ehreshoven

Zurück zur ÜbersichtZurück zur Übersicht

Malteser Kommende Ehreshoven

Gebaute Wertschätzung

Der Malteser Orden geht auf ein Hospital für Pilger in Jerusalem zurück. Um 1080 übernahm der selige Gerhard die Leitung, formte die Gemeinschaft und öffnete das Haus für alle, die hilfebedürftig waren. Aktive Nächstenliebe war für ihn Ausdruck seines Glaubens. Eine kleine Statue des Ordensgründers finden Sie auf dem Brunnen im Innenhof der Malteser Kommende in Ehreshoven bei Köln. Doch nicht nur das. Auch die Wertschätzung für die Mitmenschen und die Natur als Gottes Werk wird an vielen Stellen deutlich. Eine davon ist die Verwendung das Baustoffs Lehm.

Mit dem Strom der Zeit

In der Malteser Kommende mit der markanten roten Putzfassade können Sie tagen und feiern aber auch sich besinnen und entspannen – oder alles zusammen. Das Herz des Tagungsortes und Hotels ist der alte Gutshof von Schloss Ehreshoven. Das barocke Wasserschloss liegt in Sichtweite.

Zwei historische Gebäude des Gutshofs wurden durch einen U-förmigen Neubau ergänzt. Dabei wurde ein ehemaliges Nebengebäude in das neue Gebäude integriert. Der Neubau nimmt mit seiner Geschossigkeit und seinem Satteldach Bezug auf die beiden Bestandsgebäude. Sie bestehen im EG aus einem massiven Natursteinmauerwerk, OG und Dachgeschoss sind in Fachwerkbauweise errichtet.

Beim Umbau wurde der Baustoff Lehm verwendet. Als historisches Baumaterial ist Lehm ideal für die originalgetreue Renovierung von historischen Gebäuden. Im Fachwerkbau kann mit Lehmsteinen oder erdfeuchtem Lehm die Konstruktion ausgefacht werden. Doch auch massive Wände erhalten mit Lehmputz ein passendes Finish.

Mitten in der Natur

Der Baustoff Lehm passt nicht nur als historischer Baustoff zu der Malteser Kommende, sondern auch aufgrund seiner Natürlichkeit und der baugesunden Vorteile. Zwar richtet sich der Fokus der christlichen Gemeinschaft in erster Linie auf ihre Mitmenschen, die Natur erfährt jedoch ebenfalls eine große Wertschätzung – beides ist untrennbar miteinander verbunden.

Die Lage der Kommende am Ufer des Flüsschens Agger umgeben von den sanften Hügeln und grünen Wäldern des Bergischen Landes, lässt Sie Stress und Hektik vergessen. Im Innenraum verhilft Lehm den Räumen zu einem angenehmen Klima, indem er die Luftfeuchtigkeit reguliert.

Einen Moment der Besinnung – oder zwei

Neben der Natur und den in sonnigen Erdfarben gestalteten Räumen bietet Ihnen die Kapelle einen Ort der Ruhe und Spiritualität. Sie wurde von der chilenischen Künstlerin, Maria J. Fernandez, ausgestattet. Hier wie im ganzen Haus treffen sich Konzentration und Einkehr, Kreativität und Gemeinschaft.

Mehr lesen »

Lehm-Besonderheit:

Wertvoll für Renovierung und Neubau – Lehmbaustoffe von Claytec

Früher wurde Lehm als regionaler Baustoff direkt aus der Erde verarbeite. Theoretisch geht das heute auch noch. Allerdings müssen Baustoffe heute strenge Standards und Anforderungen erfüllen. Das gilt auch für Lehm.

Lehmputze und Lehmsteine von Claytec erfüllen diese Anforderungen auf natürliche Weise und sind daher für die originalgetreue Renovierung von historischen Gebäuden ideal. Durch natürliche Zuschläge wie Stroh aber auch farbige Tonerden können die Eigenschaften und das Aussehen des Baustoffs gesteuert werden. Davon profitieren auch Neubauten, in denen Lehm beispielsweise als dekorativer und wohngesunder Innenputz eingesetzt wird.

Daneben bietet Claytec auch Lehmbaustoffe für moderne Bauweisen wie Trockenbau an. Auch die Kombination mit einer Wandheizung hat sich im modernen Lehmbau bewährt. Der Wärmespeicher Lehm verbreitet eine angenehme Strahlungswärme.

Details zum Objekt:

Objekt auf der Karte

Teilen Sie Ihre Erfahrungen zu diesem Objekt:


Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen

Mehr Informationen zu den Baustoffen anfordern

  • Fachwerk
    Innendämmung
    Lehmputz
Bitte bestätigen Sie, dass wir Ihnen Informationen zusenden sollen.