Long Creek Farm

Zurück zur ÜbersichtBack to overview

Long Creek Farm

Experience a sense of nature

Nothing happens in nature without a reason. And so it is with Long Creek farm. Nothing about the Black Forest farm from 1813 is coincidental. Here you can experience the principles of nature and its fundamentals: food, fuel and of course building materials such as wood, natural stone and clay earth.

Today you can book the skilfully restored farm as a holiday or seminar house for up to 15 people. In this special place, it is easy to concentrate on only the indispensable and to experience the deep camaraderie that comes with sharing that focus with others. The journey begins upon arrival, but the effects of your stay will be long-lasting.

Hitting the brakes – returning to the source

Long Creek farm is located in a lonely valley in the middle of the Black Forest. In a curve of the unpaved path, the historical courtyard nestles against the slope under a towering wooden shingled roof.

The three-storey half-timbered house with the finely decorated balconies rests on a foundation made of clay plaster and whitewashed natural stones. Built this way for good reason – during the restoration, the foundation was repaired and rebuilt using original building materials, such as clay earth.

Reset – In harmony with nature

Much of the original interior has also been preserved. The decision to forego WiFi was a deliberate one, instead, there is a large room with space for 15 people to sit together. A tiled stove is used for heating.

When furnishing the space, vintage pieces were combined with modern functions. While you can cook over an open fire in the old smokehouse kitchen or over its wood-burning stove, a sleek glass cook-top in the modern kitchen is also available. Or perhaps you’d prefer to be provided with food from the surrounding farms and the region?

The rooms are modelled on historical sleeping chambers. The bathrooms with underfloor heating, assigned to each room, offer modern comfort.

On the inner walls you will find only natural building materials. Clay earth has always proven its worth, especially in kitchens, bathrooms and common rooms. As a wall surface, clay earth absorbs odours as well as air humidity that arises through use.

New start – safely grounded in everyday life

When you leave Long Creek farm, your clothes may smell a bit of smoke. While this will fade, the emotions called up by your time here will stay fresh in your mind for a long time. The reverence for the grandeur of nature and its treasures, the appreciation of the meaningfulness of centuries-old building traditions and the enrichment that building materials such as clay earth represent today more than ever thanks to their function and diversity.

Read more »

Clay Highlight:

Clay earth building materials from CLAYTEC tap into centuries-old knowledge

When Long Creek farm was renovated, tried and tested building traditions were relied upon. CLAYTEC supplied the appropriate materials. Wherever the interior walls are not made of wood or panelled with wood, they were built with clay earth as a base and finish. This was especially the case with substrates made of brick, quarry stone and new concrete walls. Clay plaster can be applied to different and changing substrates without difficulty. The walls were partially left clay-coloured. YOSIMA clay designer plaster in white, black and terra cotta colour was used for the coloured design. The old smokehouse kitchen got a new clay-earth vaulted ceiling using willow branches. The old plaster walls were re-coated with black clay plaster. Clay earth is not flammable and has an odour-binding effect. Clay earth was also used as masonry mortar and external plaster. The clay earth was adapted to building requirements using additions such as hemp.

Details:

Share your experience

Location on the map

Share what you experienced during your visit:


Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen

Request more information on the building materials

  • Fine-Finish Surfaces
    Insulation
    Clay Plaster
Please confirm that we should send you information.

Langenbachhof

Zurück zur ÜbersichtZurück zur Übersicht

Langenbachhof

Den Sinn der Natur erleben

In der Natur geschieht nichts ohne Grund. Und so verhält es sich auch mit dem Langenbachhof. Nichts an dem Schwarzwaldhof aus dem Jahr 1813 ist zufällig. Hier erleben Sie die Prinzipien der Natur unmittelbar und erfahren, was sie uns schenkt: Nahrung, Brennmaterial und natürlich Baustoffe wie Holz, Naturstein und Lehm.

Heute können Sie den sensibel restaurierten Hof als Ferien- und Seminarhaus für bis zu 15 Personen nutzen. An diesem besonderen Ort fällt es leicht, sich auf das Wesentliche zu konzentrieren und die Gemeinschaft besonders intensiv zu erleben. Mit Ihrer Ankunft beginnt die eigentliche Reise erst. Denn Ihr Aufenthalt wird lange nachwirken.

Vollbremsung – Zurück zum Ursprünglichen

Der Langenbachhof liegt in einem einsamen Tal mitten im Schwarzwald. In einer Kurve des unbefestigten Wegs schmiegt sich der historische Hof unter einem mächtigen Holzschindeldach an den Hang.

Auf einem Fundament aus lehmverputzen und weiß gekalkten Natursteinen erhebt sich das dreigeschossige Fachwerkhaus mit den fein verzierten Balkonen. All das war aus gutem Grund schon immer so – und wurde bei der Restaurierung mit originalgetreuen Baustoffen wie Lehm instandgesetzt und wieder aufgebaut.

Reset – Im Einklang mit der Natur

Auch im Inneren wurde viel Ursprüngliches bewahrt. Auf ein WLAN wurde bewusst verzichtet, dafür gibt es eine große Stube mit Platz für 15 Leute. Geheizt wird mit einem Kachelofen.

Bei der Ausstattung wurde Vorgefundenes mit modernen Funktionen kombiniert. So können Sie in der alten Rauchküche auf offenem Feuer kochen oder in der modernen Küche auf einem Holzofen oder einem Elektrokochfeld. Vielleicht lassen Sie sich lieber mit Nahrungsmitteln von den umliegenden Bauerhöfen und aus der Region verwöhnen?

Die Zimmer sind historischen Schlafkammern nachempfunden. Modernen Komfort bieten die Bäder mit Fußbodenheizung, die jedem Zimmer zugeordnet sind.

An den Innenwänden finden Sie ausschließlich Baumaterialien aus der Natur. Besonders in den Küchen, Bädern und Aufenthaltsräumen hat sich seit jeher Lehm bewährt. Als Wandoberfläche nimmt Lehm Gerüche ebenso auf wie Luftfeuchtigkeit, die bei der Nutzung der Räume entsteht.

Neustart – sicher geerdet in den Alltag

Wenn Sie den Langenbachhof verlassen, werden ihre Kleider vielleicht etwas nach Rauch riechen. In ihrem Kopf werden die Emotionen noch lange frisch bleiben. Die Ehrfurcht vor der Erhabenheit der Natur und ihren Schätzen, die Wertschätzung für die Sinnhaftigkeit jahrhundertealter Bautraditionen und die Bereicherung, die Baustoffe wie Lehm durch ihre Funktion und Vielfalt heute mehr denn je darstellen.

Mehr lesen »

Lehm-Besonderheit:

Lehmbaustoffe von CLAYTEC erschließen Ihnen jahrhundertealte Wissen

Bei der der Restaurierung des Langenbachhofs verließen sich die Verantwortlichen auf bewährte Bautraditionen. Die passenden Materialien dazu lieferte CLAYTEC. Überall dort, wo die Innenwände nicht aus Holz errichtet oder holzvertäfelt sind, wurden sie mit Lehm als Unter- und Oberputz versehen. Das war vor allem bei Untergründen aus Ziegel, Bruchstein und neuen Betonwänden der Fall. Lehmputz kann problemlos auf unterschiedliche und wechselnde Untergründe aufgebracht werden. Die Wände wurden teilweise lehmfarben belassen. Zur farbigen Gestaltung wurde YOSIMA Lehm-Designputz in weiß, schwarz und lehmfarben verwendet. Die alte Rauchküche bekam ein neues Lehmgewölbe mit Weidenruten. Die Altputzwände wurden mit schwarzem Lehmputz neu überzogen. Lehm ist nicht brennbar und wirkt geruchsbindend. Auch als Mauermörtel und Außenputz wurde Lehm verwendet. Durch Zuschläge wie Hanfschäben wurden die Eigenschaften des Lehms den Anforderungen entsprechend angepasst.

Details zum Objekt:

Kommentar verfassen

Objekt auf der Karte

Schreibe einen Kommentar:


Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen

Mehr Informationen zu den Baustoffen anfordern

  • Feine Oberflächen
    Innendämmung
    Lehmputz
Bitte bestätigen Sie, dass wir Ihnen Informationen zusenden sollen.