Kötter Farm in Herdecke

Zurück zur ÜbersichtBack to overview

Kötter Farm in Herdecke

For (clay) explorers

Very few people associate the Ruhr river, which gives the Ruhr Area its name, with relaxation and idyll. But a visit to the Hotel Kötter Farm in Herdecke (Ruhr) will surprise you with the recreational value of the Ruhr reservoirs, the picturesque old town and the way the half-timbered house restored with clay earth fulfills all modern holiday wishes.

Old and new – a combination with satisfaction guaranteed

The Kötter farm was built in the 17th century as a place for day labourers to live and sleep. Therefore accommodation is in the DNA of the house. Since 2020 the historic half-timbered house has been a family hotel with eight “chambers” – two of which are small apartments.

During the renovation, the house was not only restored to its original use, the half-timbered walls were also preserved using historical methods. The wooden framework was filled with earthen-clay blocks, which were made from a straw/clay mixture directly on the construction site.

Inside, the walls were painted with white clay-earth paint. The white of the plastered surfaces creates an exciting contrast to the construction timber, which has taken on a dark colour over the centuries.

Even though the rooms are called “chambers” after their original use as a boarding house, you will find everything here that a modern holidaymaker looks for. The furniture was selected in a simple modern style. Modern art adorns the historical walls. And of course, every room has a comfortable bathroom.

City and history – a new awareness of old substance

The former courtyard is being reawakened with the opening of Kötter Farm hotel along with other projects in the surroundings. New, carefully inserted residential buildings flank the historical house. The Kötter farm is another pearl in the Herdecke townscape, which is characterized by black and white half-timbered houses, often adorned with classic green shutters, typical for this region.

In the Middle Ages, the small town of Herdecke was an important trading hub. This was also expressed through architecture. Many of the historic half-timbered houses built in this period have stood the test of time and have been well preserved. Today the intact old town is highly valued – by both locals and holidaymakers alike.

Water and mountains – a holiday go-to

Locals, and increasingly more tourists, also appreciate the two Ruhr reservoirs located to the south of Herdecke, which attract water sport enthusiasts and walkers. If a walk around the lake is not enough for you, the mountains of the Sauerland to the south beckon – in summer for hiking and in winter for skiing and sledding.

Day trips to the nearby cities of Dortmund and Bochum are also easily accessible from the Kötter farm. The region between the Ruhr area and the Sauerland is certainly not a known holiday destination – and so it remains a real insider tip. For now!

Read more »

Clay Highlight:

CLAYTEC and half-timbering – rediscovery of an old connection

Before the repair work, the Kötterhof was overgrown by hedges and in poor condition. The old half-timbered walls, therefore, had to be completely restored, whereby the infill was reproduced to mirror the historical materials. CLAYTEC supplied all the necessary products for this: earthen-clay blocks, mortar, plasters and paints as well as willow rods and wooden battens. Some of the building materials were mixed and manufactured directly on the building site, like the straw and clay-earth blocks. The benefits of clay earth make these efforts worth it in a multitude of ways. With its moisture-regulating properties, clay earth is the ideal partner for wood construction. Inside, the building material ensures a healthy room climate and meets today’s requirements for ecologically-friendly architecture.

Details:

Share your experience

Location on the map

Share what you experienced during your visit:


Modal schliessen

Voucher form

10% Discount off your booking of two nights or more

Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen

Request more information on the building materials

  • Half-Timber House
    Fine-Finish Surfaces
    Insulation
    Clay Plaster
Please confirm that we should send you information.

Kötterhof in Herdecke

Zurück zur ÜbersichtZurück zur Übersicht

Kötterhof in Herdecke

Für (Lehm-)Entdecker

Die Ruhr, die dem Ruhrgebiet seinen Namen gibt, verbinden die wenigsten mit Erholung und Idylle. Doch ein Besuch im Hotel Kötterhof in Herdecke (Ruhr) wird Sie überraschen, mit hohem Freizeitwert rund um die Ruhrstauseen, einer malerischen Altstadt und der Erfüllung moderner Urlaubswünsche in einem mit Lehm denkmalgerecht sanierten Fachwerkhaus.

Alt und Neu – Verbindung mit Zufriedenheitsgarantie

Der Kötterhof wurde im 17 Jahrhundert als Wohn- und Schlafstätte für Tagelöhner erbaut. Die Beherbergung liegt also in der DNA des Hauses. Seit 2020 ist das historische Fachwerkhaus ein familiäres Hotel mit acht „Kammern“ – zwei davon als kleine Appartements ausgestattet.

Bei der Restaurierung wurde dem Haus nicht nur die alte Nutzung wiedergegeben. Auch die historischen Fachwerkwände wurden nach altem Vorbild erneuert. Das Holzständerwerk wurde mit Lehm-Stein ausgefacht, die direkt auf der Baustelle aus einem Stroh-Lehm-Gemisch hergestellt wurden.

Im Inneren erhielten die Wände einen Lehmputz und einen Anstrich mit weißer Lehmfarbe. Die verputzen Flächen stellen einen spannenden Kontrast zu den unbehandelten Konstruktionshölzern dar, die in den Jahrhunderten eine dunkle Farbe angenommen haben.

Auch wenn die Zimmer in Anlehnung an die ursprüngliche Nutzung „Kammern“ heißen, finden Sie hier alles, was Sie als Urlauber heute genießen möchten. Die Möblierung ist ein einem natürlich modernen Stil gehalten. Moderne Kunst ziert die historischen Wände. Und natürlich gehört zu jedem Zimmer ein komfortables Bad.

Stadt und Geschichte – neues Bewusstsein für alte Substanz

Zusammen mit dem Hotel Kötterhof wird die ehemalige Hofstelle wieder zum Leben erweckt. Neue, behutsam eingefügte Wohngebäude flankieren das historische Haus. Der Kötterhof ist eine weitere Perle im Stadtbild Herdeckes. Es wird geprägt durch regionaltypische schwarz-weiße Fachwerkhäuser, häufig mit den klassisch grünen Fensterläden.

Im Mittelalter war das kleine Städtchen Herdecke ein bedeutender Handelsplatz. Dies drückte sich auch in der Architektur aus. Die Geschichte meinte es gut und so sind viele der historischen Fachwerkhäuser erhalten. Heute wird der Wert der intakten Altstadt hoch geschätzt – von Einheimischen und Urlaubern.

Wasser und Berge – Evergreens des Urlaubs

Einheimische und zunehmend auch Touristen schätzen ebenfalls die beiden Ruhrstauseen, die im Süden von Herdecke Wassersportler und Spaziergänger anziehen. Wenn Ihnen der Weg um den See nicht ausreicht, locken die Berge des südlich gelegenen Sauerlands – im Sommer zum Wandern und im Winter zum Skifahren und Rodeln.

Oder sie machen einen Tagesausflug in die nahegelegenen Städte Dortmund und Bochum. Die Region zwischen Ruhrgebiet und Sauerland ist sicher keine Urlaubsregion im klassischen Sinn – aber ein echter Geheimtipp. Noch!

Mehr lesen »

Lehm-Besonderheit:

Claytec und Fachwerk – Wiederentdeckung einer alten Verbindung

Vor der Instandsetzung war der Kötterhof von Hecken überwuchert und in einem schlechten Zustand. Die alten Fachwerkwände mussten daher komplett restauriert werden, wobei die Ausfachung nach historischem Vorbild wiederhergestellt wurde. Claytec lieferte hierfür alle notwendigen Produkte: Lehmsteine, -mörtel, -putze und -farben ebenso wie Schilfmatten und Holzleisten. Teilweise wurden die Baustoffe direkt auf der Baustelle angemischt und hergestellt, wie die Stroh-Lehm-Steine. Der Aufwand lohnt sich, gleich in mehrfacher Hinsicht: Lehm ist mit seiner feuchteregulierenden Eigenschaft der ideale Partner für die Holzkonstruktion. Im Inneren sorgt der Baustoff für ein gesundes Raumklima und erfüllt heutige Ansprüche an eine ökologische Architektur.

Details zum Objekt:

Objekt auf der Karte

Teilen Sie Ihre Erfahrungen zu diesem Objekt:


Modal schliessen

Gutscheinformular

10% Rabatt auf Ihre Buchung von mindestens zwei Übernachtungen

Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen

Mehr Informationen zu den Baustoffen anfordern

  • Fachwerk
    Feine Oberflächen
    Innendämmung
    Lehmputz
Bitte bestätigen Sie, dass wir Ihnen Informationen zusenden sollen.