Golden Scales Coffee House

Zurück zur ÜbersichtBack to overview

Golden Scales Coffee House

Medieval gem with modern use

Medieval times are often referred to as the Dark Ages – in Frankfurt am Main, however, you can marvel at the splendid side of the middle ages. The opulent, half-timbered, Golden Scales Coffee House is part of the reconstruction of the old town undertaken in recent years. During the historically faithful reconstruction, attention was paid to every detail. This includes not only the innumerable elements of the façade ornamentation but also the use of historical building materials such as clay earth. Inside, they had a freer hand. Use and technology were adapted to current standards – whereby the building material clay earth also proved its worth.

True-to-the-original reconstruction – in a rebuilt Old Town

Frankfurt’s old town was largely destroyed during World War II. In the 1970s, the Technical Town Hall was built on the site. Now the historic city structure is being restored – with a mixture of modern buildings built in the medieval style and reconstructions built true to the originals.

The half-timbered Golden Scales Coffee House is one of the reconstructed buildings. The wealthy Dutch confectioner and spice trader Abraham von Hameln had it built in 1619 as a representative residential and trading house. The architectural firm Jourdan & Müller Steinhausen reconstructed the building using old photos and drawings.

Historical building materials – for a modern reconstruction

The reconstruction took the term “detail-oriented” literally. Flowers, leaves and fruits entwine along the wooden framework. Colourfully painted Greek gods and biblical figures look down on you. Of course, the golden scales that give the building its name are not absent. In addition, there is gilded ornamentation and carving in the wood timbering itself.

Not only the design is true to the original. Centuries-old oak beams were used for the half-timber framework. The frames were filled with earthen-clay bricks, just as they were in the days of the original construction. The interior walls were plastered with clay earth.

New use – with reference to the first builder

But the half-timbered house is not a 1:1 copy. Too much was lost or no longer in keeping with the times. It is a so-called creative reconstruction. For example, the modern heating technology, done with in-wall heating integrated into the clay plaster, is new.

Today, the upper floors house a museum where you can experience the reality of life in the Middle Ages when the original house was built. On the ground floor, a café invites you to linger – fittingly in the former home of a confectioner. Here you will discover colourful ceiling paintings. It is known that the ceilings were also painted in the original, but no documentation on what these paintings looked like was available. So, unlike the façade, the paintings were not recreated but designed by contemporary artists. This way, history not only comes alive – but evolves and remains relevant.

Photos ©DomRömer GmbH/Uwe Dettmar

Read more »

Clay Highlight:

Intelligent building materials – Clay-earth building materials from Claytec

Timber framework filled in with earthen-clay bricks is one of the most common historical framework-construction styles. It not only uses locally available materials but also makes sense from a building physics point of view. The clay earth regulates the moisture in the construction and thus protects the wood.

These properties make wood and clay earth an intelligent combination even today. For the reconstruction of the Golden Scales Coffee House, almost 5,000 clay blocks in two different densities were used.

The combination of earthen-clay plaster and in-wall heating is also ideal and contemporary. The heat-retaining properties of clay earth mean pleasant radiant heat is given off slowly and evenly. This not only warms comfortably but also helps people with allergies, as there is no movement of air to stir up dust.

Details:

Location on the map

Share what you experienced during your visit:


Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen

Request more information on the building materials

  • Half-Timber House
    Fine-Finish Surfaces
    Clay Plaster
Please confirm that we should send you information.

Kaffeehaus Goldene Waage

Zurück zur ÜbersichtZurück zur Übersicht

Kaffeehaus Goldene Waage

Mittelalterliches Schmuckstück mit moderner Nutzung

Oft ist vom finsteren Mittelalter die Rede – in Frankfurt am Main können Sie die prächtige Seite dieses Zeitalters bestaunen. Das opulente Fachwerkhaus „Zur Goldenen Waage“ ist Teil der Altstadt-Rekonstruktion. Beim originalgetreuen Wiederaufbau achtete man auf jedes Detail. Dazu zählen neben den unzähligen Verzierungen auch historische Baustoffe wie Lehm. Im Inneren hatte man freiere Hand. Nutzung und Technik wurde an unsere Zeit angepasst – wobei sich der Baustoff Lehm ebenfalls bewehrte.

Originalgetreue Rekonstruktion – in wiederaufgebauter Altstadt

Die Frankfurter Altstadt wurde im Zweiten Weltkrieg weitestgehend zerstört. In den 1970er Jahren entstand auf der Fläche das Technische Rathaus. Nun wird die historische Stadtstruktur wieder hergestellt – mit einer Mischung aus modernen Gebäuden, die sich an der historischen Substanz orientieren und originalgetreuen Rekonstruktionen.

Das Fachwerkhaus „Zur Goldenen Waage“ ist eins der wiederaufgebauten Häuser. Der vermögende niederländische Zuckerbäcker und Gewürzhändler Abraham von Hameln ließ es 1619 als repräsentatives Wohn- und Handelshaus errichten. Das Architekturbüro Jourdan & Müller Steinhausen hat das Gebäude anhand alter Fotos und Zeichnungen rekonstruiert.

Historische Baumaterialien – für modernen Wiederaufbau

Das Wort detailgetreu können Sie dabei ruhig wörtlich nehmen. Blumen, Blätter und Früchte ranken sich am Holzfachwerk entlang. Bunt bemalte griechische Götter und biblische Gestalten schauen auf Sie hinunter. Natürlich darf auch die namensgebende goldene Waage nicht fehlen. Dazu gesellen sich vergoldete Ornamente und Schnitzereien im Fachwerk.

Doch nicht nur die Gestaltung ist originalgetreu. Für das Fachwerk wurden jahrhundertealte Eichenbalken verwendet. Die Gefache wurden wie zu Zeiten der ursprünglichen Erbauung mit Lehmsteinen ausgemauert. Die Innenwände wurden mit Lehm verputzt.

Neue Nutzung – mit Bezug zum ersten Erbauer

Doch das Fachwerkhaus ist keine 1:1-Kopie. Zu viel war verloren oder nicht mehr zeitgemäß. Es ist ein sogenannter schöpferischer Nachbau. Das zeigt sich beispielsweise an einer modernen Heiztechnik mit Wandheizungen, die in den Lehmputz integriert ist.

Heute können Sie in den oberen Etagen im Museum die Lebenswirklichkeit aus der Zeit der Erbauung nachempfinden. Im Erdgeschoss lädt Sie ein Café zum Verweilen ein – passend im ehemaligen Haus eines Zuckerbäckers. Hier entdecken Sie bunte Deckenmalereien. Es ist bekannt, dass auch im Original die Decken bemalt waren, aber es war keine Information darüber vorhanden, wie diese Gemälde aussahen. Also anders als an der Fassade wurden die Malereien nicht nachempfunden, sondern von aktuellen Künstlern gestaltet. So wird Geschichte nicht nur bunt – sondern bleibt lebendig.

Fotos ©DomRömer GmbH/Uwe Dettmar

Mehr lesen »

Lehm-Besonderheit:

Intelligente Baustoffe – Lehmbaustoffe von Claytec

Holzfachwerk mit Lehmsteinen gehört zu den gängigsten historischen Fachwerkkonstruktionen. Es nutzte nicht nur lokale Baustoffe, sondern macht auch bauphysikalisch Sinn. Der Lehm reguliert die Feuchtigkeit in der Konstruktion und schützt so das Holz.

Diese Eigenschaften machen Holz und Lehm auch heute zu einer intelligenten Kombination. Für den Wiederaufbau des Hauses zur Goldenen Waage wurden knapp 5.000 Lehmsteine in zwei unterschiedlichen Rohdichten verwendet.

Auch die Kombination Lehmputz und Wandheizung ist ideal und zeitgemäß. Der Wärmespeicher Lehm gibt die angenehme Strahlungswärme langsam und gleichmäßig ab. Das wärmt nicht nur angenehm, sondern hilft auch Menschen mit Allergien, da keine Luftbewegungen entstehen, die Staub aufwirbeln.

Details zum Objekt:

Objekt auf der Karte

Teilen Sie Ihre Erfahrungen zu diesem Objekt:


Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen

Mehr Informationen zu den Baustoffen anfordern

  • Fachwerk
    Feine Oberflächen
    Lehmputz
Bitte bestätigen Sie, dass wir Ihnen Informationen zusenden sollen.