Hessenpark Open Air Museum

Zurück zur ÜbersichtBack to overview

Hessenpark Open Air Museum

Experience History

The Hessenpark Open-Air Museum can be found in the middle of the Taunus Mountains. Exciting insights into rural and small-town life in the Hesse of bygone days await museum visitors – from furnished houses to exhibitions and demonstrations. Spread over 65 hectares of open land and in over 100 historical buildings, visitors can experience how people used to live and work. In addition to its unique collection of Hessian half-timbered architecture, the open-air museum offers a direct insight into everyday rural culture – true-to-life history in a living museum.

Insights into former ways of life

Eleven of the 113 half-timbered houses in the 65-hectare Hessenpark Open-Air Museum are complete reconstructions of the former originals. The remaining 102 were rebuilt in the open-air museum from their original location, where they could not be preserved due to urban development. They all tell stories of daily life from the 17th century up to the 1980s, with real protagonists such as Rhön sheep, Vorwerk chickens and other rare breeds of domestic animals. Five groups of buildings provide insights into typical regional settlement forms with residential and farm buildings from central, northern, eastern and southern Hesse as well as from the Rhine-Main region. Since 1974, the open-air museum has housed its carefully selected and attentively maintained witnesses to history as a living memory, and continues to expand the portfolio even today. Natural building materials play an essential role in this – because part of the goal is to save the historical building fabric itself as well as to enable energetic retrofitting and modern living inside the buildings. For interested builders, there are even seminars and workshops on the renovation of old buildings with clay earth and natural building materials.

Performances and exhibitions

Strolling through the grounds, one can definitely get lost in the authentic details. This is exactly what the museum is known for: It invites visitors to walk in the footsteps of our ancestors who lived far more simply and authentically than we do today. This authenticity can be experienced with all senses. Walls sometimes feel warm, sometimes cool, depending on the building’s use. The wood of church pews or school benches is smooth. The air smells of hay, floor wax, and earth. One can almost hear the splashing of the stone fountains, the crackle of a fire in the cast-iron stove, or the clatter of dishes just before supper. Some buildings are furnished true to the original time period and serve as examples of village and small-town everyday life. The kitchens, living rooms and bedrooms paint a vivid picture of home life through to the 20th century. In craft workshops, visitors discover the tools typical of traditional trades; blacksmiths, basket weavers and others are at work in regular demonstrations. Just past the entrance to the park, the marketplace square building group opens up. The half-timbered houses here house historical exhibits, an old pharmacy and a print shop. There is also a tavern and several stores, which provide opportunity to experience and enjoy.

Read more »

Clay Highlight:

Construction, insulation, air-quality regulation: Historical building fabric with a future

The village buildings made of earthen clay, stone and wood, especially the half-timbered houses, are the open-air museum’s proverbial soul. Clay earth, mixed with straw or as clay bricks, can be found in the partitions of the supporting wooden frameworks. Entire walls are made of earthen clay; straw-clay siding insulates living spaces from the outside and protects gables and eaves against wind and rain. This rather rare wall covering was once found in the Hessian back country, the Westerwald and the Eifel all the way to Belgium. Therefore, the museum team applied this weather protection to several barns, using traditional techniques.

„As an ecological raw and building material, clay earth is inextricably linked to half-timbered construction“, says Eberhard Feußner, head of the Building Department & Competence Centre for the open-air museum. „It creates a very good indoor climate. What’s so exciting about it is its significant ornamental quality for clay earth infills using the ‘stip and scratch plaster’ technique, which has become intangible world cultural heritage.“

Details:

Location on the map

Share what you experienced during your visit:


Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen

Request more information on the building materials

  • Half-Timber House
Please confirm that we should send you information.

Freilichtmuseum Hessenpark

Zurück zur ÜbersichtZurück zur Übersicht

Freilichtmuseum Hessenpark

Geschichte Erleben

Mitten im Taunus befindet sich das Freilichtmuseum Hessenpark. Museumsgäste erwartet hier ein spannender Einblick in das ländliche und kleinstädtische Leben im früheren Hessen – von eingerichteten Häusern über Ausstellungen bis hin zu Vorführungen. Auf 65 Hektar Freifläche und in über 100 historischen Gebäuden kann man erfahren, wie Menschen früher lebten und arbeiteten. Das Freilichtmuseum bietet neben seiner einzigartigen Sammlung hessischer Fachwerkarchitektur einen unmittelbaren Einblick in die ländliche Alltagskultur – lebensnahe Geschichte in einem lebendigen Museum.

Einblicke in frühere Lebensweisen

Elf der 113 Fachwerkhäuser im 65 Hektar großen Freilichtmuseum Hessenpark sind vollständige Rekonstruktionen der einstigen Originale. Die restlichen 102 wurden in dem Freilichtmuseum von ihrem ursprünglichen Standort aus, an dem sie aufgrund der baulichen Weiterentwicklung nicht erhalten werden konnten, wieder errichtet. Sie alle erzählen Alltagsgeschichten dem 16. Jahrhundert bis hinein in die 1960er-Jahre, mit echten Protagonisten wie Rhönschafen, Vorwerkhühnern und weiteren selten gewordenen Haustierrassen. Fünf Baugruppen geben Einblicke in regionaltypische Siedlungsformen mit Wohn- und Wirtschaftsgebäuden aus Mittel-, Nord-, Ost-, Südhessen sowie Rhein-Main. Seit 1974 beherbergt das Freilichtmuseum als lebendiges Gedächtnis seine sorgfältig ausgesuchten und achtsam gepflegten Zeitzeugen und erweitert das Portfolio bis heute. Natürliche Baustoffe spielen darin eine essenzielle Rolle – denn zu den Zielen gehört auch, mit den historischen Gebäuden Beispiele zu zeigen für gelungene energetische Ertüchtigungen und modernes Wohnen in alten Fachwerkgebäuden. Für interessierte Bauherren gibt es sogar Seminare und Workshops, beispielsweise zur Altbausanierung mit Lehm und Naturbaustoffen.

Vorführungen und Ausstellungen

Beim Schlendern durch die Hofanlagen kann man sich in den authentischen Details durchaus verlieren. Genau dafür ist das Museum bekannt: Es lädt dazu ein, auf den Spuren von Vorfahren zu wandeln, die weit ursprünglicher lebten als unsereins heute. Diese Ursprünglichkeit lässt sich mit allen Sinnen erfassen. Wände fühlen sich je nach Gebäudenutzung mal warm, mal kühl an. Das Holz von Sitz-, Schul- oder Kirchenbänken ist glatt. Es duftet nach Heu, Bohnerwachs, Erde. Man meint fast, ein Plätschern aus den steinernen Brunnen, das Knacken eines Feuers im gusseisernen Ofen zu hören. Oder das Geschirrklappern kurz vor dem Abendbrot. Einige Gebäude sind originalgetreu eingerichtet und dienen als Beispiele dörflichen und kleinstädtischen Alltagslebens. Die Küchen, Wohn- und Schlafstuben vermitteln ein anschauliches Bild vom Leben bis ins 20. Jahrhundert. In Werkstätten entdecken Besucher typische Gerätschaften traditioneller Gewerke, in regelmäßigen Vorführungen sind Schmiede, Korbflechter und viele andere Gewerke im Einsatz. Direkt nach dem Eingangsgebäude eröffnet sich die Baugruppe Marktplatz. Die hier aufgebauten Fachwerkhäuser beherbergen Ausstellungen, eine alte Apotheke und eine Druckerei. Außerdem gibt es ein Gasthaus und verschiedene Einkaufsgeschäfte, die Gelegenheit zum Erleben und Genießen bieten.

Mehr lesen »

Lehm-Besonderheit:

Aufbau, Dämmung, Klimaregulation: Historische Bausubstanz mit Zukunft

Die dörflichen Gebäude aus Lehm, Stein und Holz, insbesondere die Fachwerkhäuser, sind die sprichwörtliche Seele des Freilichtmuseums. Lehm steckt zusammen mit Stroh oder als Lehmstein in den Gefachen der tragenden Holzgerüste. Ganze Wände bestehen aus Lehm, Strohlehmverkleidung dämmt Wohnräume von außen und schützt Giebel und Traufseiten gegen Wind und Regen. Dieser eher seltene Wandbehang war einst regionaltypisch für das hessische Hinterland, den Westerwald und die Eifel bis nach Belgien. An mehreren Scheunen ließ das Museumsteam deshalb diesen Wetterschutz in traditioneller Technik ausführen.

„Als ökologischer Roh- und Baustoff ist Lehm untrennbar mit dem Fachwerkbau verbunden“, sagt Eberhard Feußner, Leiter Stabstelle Bauwesen & Kompetenzzentrum für das Freilichtmuseum. „Er schafft ein sehr gutes Raumklima. Spannend ist seine bedeutende ornamentale Qualität bei Lehmausfachungen für Stip- und Kratzputz – diese Technik ist inzwischen immaterielles Weltkulturerbe.“

Details zum Objekt:

Objekt auf der Karte

Teilen Sie Ihre Erfahrungen zu diesem Objekt:


Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen

Mehr Informationen zu den Baustoffen anfordern

  • Fachwerk
Bitte bestätigen Sie, dass wir Ihnen Informationen zusenden sollen.