Millpond Treehouse Hotel

Zurück zur ÜbersichtBack to overview

Millpond Treehouse Hotel

Dreams between sky and clay earth

When you spend the night in the treetops, leaves peek through the windows. Glimpses of the sky peek through the leaves and you can hardly be closer to nature than this. Nature is omnipresent in the lovingly renovated old mill buildings too, where you can dine, linger or spend the night – in the form of natural building materials such as wood and earthen clay.

Dream (vacation) house in a renovated mill

It all started with an old “rattle” mill (so-called due to the sound it made when grinding grain) on the outskirts of the village Weickersgrüben in the Bavarian Spessart. The owners Stephan Schulze and Ulrike Schupp have put in a great deal of commitment and elbow grease in order to turn it into a holiday home.

For the renovation of the half-timbered building from 1632, the owners naturally opted for earthen clay – the building material that the original builder also chose. Thanks to its moisture-regulating properties, clay earth protects the timber structure of the house framework.

The affectionately nicknamed “Hexenhäuschen” or witch’s house comfortably accommodates up to six people. A fireplace, the half-timbering that is also visible in the house interior and the bedrooms in the gable create a rustic, cosy atmosphere.

The dream of living in and with nature

The owners could have stopped with the renovation of the “Hexenhäuschen” – but they had caught the restoration bug. When they discovered a dilapidated water mill about five kilometres away, they bought it too and a plan for an oasis of relaxation in nature was formed.

For the conversion of the more than 300-year-old half-timbered house into dining and conference rooms, the historic wooden frame was exposed. It turned out that some of the beams were rotten. Fortunately, it was possible to replace them with old oak beams from the adjacent tumbled-down barn. When rebuilding the framework, tried and tested natural building materials were also used: clay-earth bricks, clay plaster and reeds.

Enjoy nature with all your senses

To finance the project, a treehouse hotel was built next to the historical buildings. The six treehouses with own baths can accommodate up to four people each. Breakfast is enjoyed in the old mill building itself. The mill building also has meeting space for up to 40 people.

During the day, the forest is ideal for hiking. Visit and take in a sparkling little waterfall to the north. In the evening you can close out the day at the lakeside barn. This too is a half-timbered house that was rebuilt on the millpond. Here, too, clay earth was used as a building material – a completely natural way to increase well-being.

Read more »

Clay Highlight:

Claytec earth building materials fulfil the dream of ecological building

Clay earth has proven itself time and time again in half-timbered construction. It is ideal for the restoration of historical half-timbered buildings such as the old mills. The combination of the wood frame with earthen clay, which regulates the moisture in the construction, usually means that chemical wood protection can be dispensed with. Where possible, original clay-earth materials can be recycled, mixed with modern clay-earth and then reused.

For the reconstruction and new construction of the half-timbered walls in the mill buildings, lightweight reed panels were used as interior insulation in addition to clay earth and clay plaster from Claytec. These reed panels improve the thermal insulation and the surface temperature of the exterior walls. They were pressed fully into a bed of plastered clay. The wall surfaces were then coated with brush plaster. Reed matting was also partially installed as reinforcement.

Details:

Location on the map

Share what you experienced during your visit:


Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen

Request more information on the building materials

  • Fine-Finish Surfaces
    Insulation
    Clay Plaster
Please confirm that we should send you information.

Baumhaushotel Seemühle

Zurück zur ÜbersichtZurück zur Übersicht

Baumhaushotel Seemühle

Träumen zwischen Himmel und Lehm

Bei der Übernachtung in den Baumwipfeln lugen die Blätter durchs Fenster. Dazwischen erhaschen Sie einen Blick auf den Himmel. Mehr Naturnähe geht kaum. Auch in den liebevoll sanierten alten Mühlengebäuden, in denen Sie speisen, sich aufhalten oder ebenfalls übernachten können, ist die Natur allgegenwärtig – in Form von natürlichen Baustoffen wie Holz und Lehm.

Traum(ferien)haus in sanierter Mühle

Alles fing an mit einer alten Klappermühle am Rande des Örtchens Weickersgrüben im bayrischen Spessart. Die Besitzer Stephan Schulze und Ulrike Schupp haben sie mit viel Engagement und Eigenleistung in ein Ferienhaus verwandelt.

Bei der denkmalgerechten Sanierung des Fachwerkgebäudes aus dem Jahr 1632 setzten die Eigentümer natürlich auf Lehm – den Baustoff, den auch die ursprünglichen Erbauer wählten. Durch seine feuchteregulierenden Eigenschaften schützt Lehm die Holzkonstruktion des Fachwerks.

In dem liebevoll Hexenhäuschen genannten Ferienhaus können Sie mit bis zu 6 Personen entspannen. Ein Kamin, das auch innen sichtbare Fachwerk und die Schlafzimmer im Giebel schaffen eine urig-gemütliche Atmosphäre.

Der Traum vom Wohnen in und mit der Natur

Nach der Sanierung des Hexenhäuschens hätten sich die Besitzer ausruhen können – doch sie hatten Feuer gefangen. Als sie ca. 5 Kilometer entfernt eine marode Wassermühle entdeckten, kauften sie das Haus und entwickelten den Plan von der Erholung mitten in der Natur.

Für den Umbau des über 300 Jahre alten Fachwerkhauses in Speise- und Tagunsräume wurde die historische Holzkonstruktion freigelegt. Dabei zeigte sich, dass einige der Balken morsch waren. Sie konnten durch alte Eichenbalken aus der abgerissenen Scheune ersetzt werden. Auch beim Wiederaufbau des Fachwerks wurde auf bewährte natürliche Baustoffe gesetzt: Lehmziegel, Lehmputz und Schilfrohr.

Die Natur mit allen Sinnen genießen

Zur Finanzierung des Projektes wurden die historischen Gebäude um ein Baumhaushotel ergänzt. In den sechs Baumhäusern mit Duschbad haben bis zu vier Personen Platz. Frühstück genießen Sie in der alten Mühle. Dort können Sie auch mit bis zu 40 Personen tagen.

Tagsüber lädt der Wald zum Wandern ein. Ein wenig nördlich plätschert ein kleiner Wasserfall. Abends können Sie den Tag in der Seescheune ausklingen lassen. Das kleine Fachwerkhaus wurde neu am Mühlteich errichtet. Auch hier verarbeiteten die Besitzer Lehm – als Baustoff, der das Wohlbefinden auf natürliche Weise steigert.

Mehr lesen »

Lehm-Besonderheit:

Lehmbaustoffe von Claytec für den Traum vom natürlichen Bauen

Lehm hat sich seit jeher im Fachwerkbau bewährt. Daher ist er für die Sanierung historischer Fachwerkgebäude wie die alten Mühlen ideal. Durch die Kombination mit Lehm, der die Feuchtigkeit in der Konstruktion reguliert, kann in der Regel auf einen chemischen Holzschutz verzichtet werden. Wenn möglich können auch alte Lehmbaustoffe eingesumpft, mit modernen Lehmmaterialien aufbereitet und wieder eingebaut werden.

Für den Wiederaufbau bzw. den Neubau der Fachwerkwände in den Mühlen kamen neben Lehm und Lehmputz von Claytec auch Schilfrohrleichtbauplatten als Innendämmung zum Einsatz. Sie verbessern die Wärmedämmung und die Oberflächentemperatur der Außenwände. Sie wurden vollflächig in ein Bett aus Lehm-Unterputz gepresst. Die Beschichtung der Wandflächen erfolgte mit Streichputz. Teilweise wurde Rohrgewebe als Armierung eingebaut.

Details zum Objekt:

Objekt auf der Karte

Teilen Sie Ihre Erfahrungen zu diesem Objekt:


Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen

Mehr Informationen zu den Baustoffen anfordern

  • Feine Oberflächen
    Innendämmung
    Lehmputz
Bitte bestätigen Sie, dass wir Ihnen Informationen zusenden sollen.