Villa V

Zurück zur ÜbersichtBack to overview

Villa V

Clay meets Bauhaus

Bauhaus architecture and clay – how do they fit together? After visiting Villa V in Viersen, the answer will be clear. It is an ideal combination that demonstrates a willingness to create and a sense of responsibility in line with the concepts of the New Objectivity movement.

Villa V is an art gallery, event location, residence and guesthouse with three guest rooms. And it is one of the few examples of the New Objectivity movement that exists in western Germany today. In the early 1930s, the Kaiser family commissioned young Düsseldorf architect Bernhard Pfau to plan a house in the Bauhaus style.

Josef Kaiser, founder of the grocery stores “Kaiser‘s-Kaffee-Geschäfts GmbH”, had already shown his passion for modern design with the development of the chain’s logo; a laughing coffee pot famously created by the artist and architect Peter Behrens.

Seen from the street, the restrained, straight-lined building surprises and delights inside with light-flooded rooms and coloured walls. In keeping with the motto “form follows function”, ornamentation and decoration were dispensed with. Instead, the wall surfaces themselves become a design element.

Colour fitting specifications

The proprietor Gerda-Marie Voss, who acquired the house in 2010, wanted to restore the surface quality and colouring of the walls. Her particular challenge: restoring the signature colour “Pfau green”, a subtle pastel green named after the home’s architect.

While searching for a suitable way to restore the walls to their original colour, the art enthusiast came across clay plaster as a wall surface in a museum. It has a natural colour that can be individually adapted by adding different clays. The desired colour was matched so precisely that the landmark preservation requirements were met.

Bed & Breakfast in a landmark building

Originally, Villa V was planned as a home for a family of five plus staff. The current owner has reinvented the home, turning living spaces into art and cultural event spaces. The vision of the New Objectivity movement is kept alive with art exhibitions.

Today the upper floor is still reserved for living quarters. In addition to the hostess’ private rooms, there are three modernized guest rooms that you can rent separately or together.

Clear spaces for a clear attitude

The simplified structure and high functionality of the rooms testify to a progressive understanding of the relationship between architecture and lifestyle. The resident – their spirit and character – have room to develop in this reduced architecture. This attitude stood in contrast to both the ostentatious architecture typical of the period as well as the cramped living conditions of the working class of the time.

Today, responsible architecture is also expressed through the use of ecological and sustainable building materials. Seen from this point of view, the decision to use clay plaster also fits perfectly with this aspect of the vision of New Objectivity.

Read more »

Clay Highlight:

YOSIMA clay design plaster in your desired colour

The special “Pfau green” in Villa V, named after the architect – is a pastel green – not a colour that is directly associated with clay. And yet it was the possibility of producing exactly this colour that led the resident and landmark preservationist Gerda-Marie Voss to decide to use it. The YOSIMA clay design plaster is available in 146 colours from the factory – all made without dyes or pigments. Claytec uses the natural colour variations of clay as a colouring agent. Beyond these standard colours, the composition can also be altered in order to produce the exact shade you want.

Details:

Location on the map

Share what you experienced during your visit:


Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen

Request more information on the building materials

  • Fine-Finish Surfaces
    Clay Plaster
Please confirm that we should send you information.

Villa V

Zurück zur ÜbersichtZurück zur Übersicht

Villa V

Lehm trifft Bauhaus

Bauhaus-Architektur und Lehm – wie passt das zusammen? Nachdem Sie die Villa V in Viersen besucht haben, kennen Sie die Antwort. Es ist eine ideale Kombination, die ganz im Sinne des Neuen Bauens Gestaltungswillen und Verantwortungsbewusstsein beweist.

Die Villa V ist Kunstsalon, Veranstaltungslocation, Wohnhaus und Pension mit drei Gästezimmern. Und sie ist eines der wenigen Beispiele für Neues Bauen, die es im Westen Deutschlands heute gibt. Anfang der 1930er Jahre beauftragte die Unternehmerfamilie Kaiser den jungen Düsseldorfer Architekten Bernhard Pfau mit der Planung eines Wohnhauses im Bauhaus-Stil.

Josef Kaiser, Gründer der Einzelhandelskette Kaiser‘s-Kaffee-Geschäft GmbH, hatte seine Passion für moderne Gestaltung bereits mit der Entwicklung der berühmten lachenden Kaffeekanne im Logo durch den Künstler und Architekten Peter Behrens bewiesen.

Das außen zurückhaltend-gradlinig Gebäude überrascht im Inneren mit lichtdurchfluteten Räumen und farbigen Wänden. Entsprechend dem Credo „form follows function“ wurde auf Ornamentik und baulichen Schmuck verzichtet. Die (Ober)Flächen werden stattdessen zum Gestaltungselement.

Farbe folgt Vorgabe

Die Initiatorin Gerda-Marie Voss, die 2010 das Haus erwarb, wollte die Oberflächenqualität und Farbigkeit der Wände wieder herstellen. Besondere Herausforderung: Viele Flächen sollten das typische „Pfau-Grün“ erhalten, ein dezentes Pastellgrün.

Auf der Suche nach einer entsprechenden Wandgestaltung stieß die Kunstbegeisterte in einem Museum auf den Werkstoff Lehm als Wandoberfläche. Er bringt eine natürliche Farbigkeit mit, die durch die Zugabe unterschiedlicher Tonerden individuell angepasst werden kann. Der gewünschte Farbton wurde so exakt getroffen, dass die denkmalpflegerischen Vorgaben erfüllt waren.

Bed & Breakfast im Baudenkmal

Ursprünglich war die Villa V als Wohnhaus für eine fünfköpfige Familie plus Personal geplant. Die heutige Besitzerin entwickelt die ehemaligen Wohnräume zu Kulturräumen weiter. Mit Kunstsalons und Ausstellungen wird die Vision des Neuen Bauens lebendig gehalten.

Das Obergeschoss ist auch heute dem Wohnen vorbehalten. Neben den privaten Räumen der Gastgeberin befinden sich hier drei denkmalgerecht modernisierte Gästezimmer, die Sie separat oder gemeinsam mieten können.

Klare Räume für klare Haltung

Die klare Gliederung und hohe Funktionalität der Räume zeugen von einer fortschrittlichen Auffassung der Beziehung zwischen Architektur und Lebensstil. Der Bewohner – sein Geist, seine Haltung – sollte in dieser reduzierten Architektur Raum zur Entfaltung haben. Diese Haltung stand im Kontrast zur damaligen Protzarchitektur einerseits und den beengten Wohnverhältnissen der Arbeiterklasse andererseits.

Heute drückt sich eine verantwortungsvolle Architektur auch in dem Einsatz von ökologischen und nachhaltigen Baustoffen aus. Die Entscheidung für einen Lehmputz passt also auch unter diesem Aspekt perfekt zu der Vision des Neuen Bauens.

Mehr lesen »

Lehm-Besonderheit:

YOSIMA Lehm-Designputz in Ihrem Wunschfarbton

Das spezielle „Pfau-Grün“ in der Villa V ist ein pastelliges Hellgrün – kein Farbton, den man direkt mit Lehm in Verbindung bringt. Und doch war es die Möglichkeit, exakt diesen Farbton herzustellen, die den Ausschlag für die Entscheidung der Bewohnerin und Denkmalschützerin Gerda-Marie Voss gab. Der Lehm-Designputz YOSIMA ist werkseitig bereits in 146 Farbtönen erhältlich – alle ohne Farbstoffe oder Pigmente hergestellt. Claytec nutzt die natürliche Farbigkeit von Tonerden, die als Farbgeber und Bindemittel enthalten sind. Um den von Ihnen gewünschten Farbton herzustellen, wird die Zusammensetzung entsprechend angepasst.

Details zum Objekt:

Objekt auf der Karte

Teilen Sie Ihre Erfahrungen zu diesem Objekt:


Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen

Mehr Informationen zu den Baustoffen anfordern

  • Feine Oberflächen
    Lehmputz
Bitte bestätigen Sie, dass wir Ihnen Informationen zusenden sollen.