Tuppen Farm Museum

Zurück zur ÜbersichtBack to overview

Tuppen Farm Museum

Walls that tell stories

The Tuppen farm in Kaarst, North Rhine-Westphalia, is more than a museum. It is an original. Here you not only learn about the history of the farm, you encounter it. The buildings, laid out in a quadrangle typical of historic Rhenish style, were built over the last three centuries where they currently stand. The farm garden was laid out and cultivated by the residents. In addition, all the finds on display in the museum come from the site. Everything that could not be preserved, such as the half-timbered walls, has been faithfully restored.

Discover historical building techniques

Do you know the origin of the word wall? It comes from the Old English word weall, which meant “rampart, dike, earthwork”. This provides a hint as to the once common wall composition: clay earth. In historical half-timbered building, the compartments in the wooden framework were filled using willow rods that were wound around vertical oak poles. This woven core was filled with clay earth and plastered over.

The gatehouse and the residence, as well as the barn of the Tuppen farm, were constructed in this way. During the renovation under the direction of the architect Inge Breidenbach, the half-timbered construction was restored using historical techniques and the original building material, clay earth. The building technique is clearly demonstrated in the residential building.

Earthen clay and wood are a proven combination when it comes to building physics. Clay earth can absorb and buffer moisture. In this way, the wooden construction is protected from damage – without the use of chemicals.

For the gatehouse, the half-timbered construction also proved useful for a different reason. In 1860, the entire building was turned 90 degrees because the street layout changed, and the entrance needed to be adjusted to match. The construction could be easily dismantled and rebuilt in the new position.

Experience stories from three centuries

The Tuppen Farm is a contemporary witness to history, special for two reasons. Firstly, it escaped renovation and major modernisation when its use came to an end in the 1970s and 80s. After that, a cloak of oblivion spread over the farm. Fortunately, the farm was remembered in time to preserve the historical substance of the buildings.

Secondly, the former owners kept detailed records during the entire period in which the farm was in use and thus documented three hundred years of rural and regional history. Today, the archive is completely preserved and accessible to the public.

During a visit, you can immerse yourself in the everyday life of the former inhabitants. With a guided tour through the rooms furnished with original furniture, the past comes alive with their stories.

Encountering art, culture and nature

At the Tuppen Farm Museum, you will not only encounter history and stories. Today, the farm is also a venue for music, theatre and cabaret, an exhibition space for thematic and artistic shows as well as a place to experience and enjoy nature.

In addition, one can get married at the Tuppen Farm. Thus, something new and hopeful always begins in this historic place.

Photos ©Klaus Stevens Kaarst

Read more »

Clay Highlight:

Getting to know modern clay earth building materials

In the 1990s – the period when the Tuppen Farm was being restored – building with earthen clay belonged almost exclusively to the conservation of cultural heritage buildings. However, the positive effects on the indoor climate and interior design made clay earth building materials increasingly attractive for new buildings as well.

In addition, CLAYTEC industrialised the production of earthen building materials and was able to offer products that were easy to work with. Today, modern drywall clay boards and YOSIMA clay designer plaster in 146 colour shades complement the product range.

At the Tuppen Farm Museum, the craftsmen used traditional earthen building techniques by infilling the wooden structure with oak staves, willow rods and clay earth. A clay undercoat with straw and a fine clay plaster form the wall surface, which can then be coloured.

Details:

Share your experience

Location on the map

Share what you experienced during your visit:


Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen

Request more information on the building materials

  • Half-Timber House
Please confirm that we should send you information.

Museum Tuppenhof

Zurück zur ÜbersichtZurück zur Übersicht

Museum Tuppenhof

Wände, die Geschichten erzählen

Der Tuppenhof im nordrhein-westfälischen Kaarst ist mehr als ein Museum. Er ist ein Original. Hier lernen Sie nicht nur etwas über die Geschichte des Hofs, Sie begegnen ihr. Die Gebäude des historischen rheinischen Vierkanthofs sind über die letzten drei Jahrhunderte an Ort und Stelle errichtet worden. Der Bauerngarten wurde von den Bewohnern angelegt und bewirtschaftet. Zudem stammen alle gezeigten Funde von dem Gelände. Alles, was nicht erhalten werden konnte, wie die Fachwerkwände, wurde originalgetreu wieder hergestellt.

Historische Bautechnik entdecken

Kennen Sie den Unterschied zwischen Mauer und Wand? Eine Mauer ist aus Steinen gemauert. Das Wort „Wand“ hingegen kommt von „winden“. Weidenruten wurden um vertikale Eichenstaken gewunden. Dieses Gerüst wurde mit Lehm ausgefüllt und verputzt.

Im historischen Fachwerkbau wurden so die Gefache der Holzkonstruktion geschlossen, wie auch im Wohn- und Torhaus sowie der Scheune des Tuppenhofs. Bei der Renovierung unter der Leitung der Architektin Inge Breidenbach wurde die Fachwerkkonstruktion mit der historischen Technik und dem Originalbaustoff Lehm wieder instand gesetzt. Im Wohnhaus ist die Bautechnik anschaulich dargestellt.

Lehm und Holz sind bauphysikalisch eine bewährte Kombination. Lehm kann Feuchtigkeit aufnehmen und abpuffern. So wird die Holzkonstruktion vor Schäden geschützt – ganz ohne Chemie.

Beim Torhaus erwies sich die Fachwerkbauweise noch aus einem andren Grund als sinnvoll. 1860 wurde es um 90 Grad gedreht, da sich Straßenführung und Eingangssituation änderten. Die Konstruktion konnte einfach ab- und wieder aufgebaut werden.

Geschichten aus drei Jahrhunderten erleben

Der Tuppenhof ist aus zwei Gründen ein besonderer Zeitzeuge. Zum einen entging er durch das Auslaufen seiner Nutzung in den 1970er und 80er-Jahren großen Umbauten. Danach breitete sich der Mantel des Vergessens über den Hof. Dieser wurde zum Glück rechtzeitig gelüftet, sodass die historische Substanz erhalten werden konnte.

Zum anderen führten die ehemaligen Besitzer über den gesamten Nutzungszeitraum des Hofs Buch und dokumentierten so dreihundert Jahre bäuerliche und regionale Geschichte. Das Archiv ist heute vollständig erhalten und erschlossen.

Bei einem Besuch tauchen Sie in den Alltag der ehemaligen Bewohner ein. Mit einer Führung durch die mit Originalmöbeln eingerichteten Räume wird die Vergangenheit durch viele Geschichten lebendig.

Kunst, Kultur und Natur begegnen

Im Tuppenhof Museum begegnen Sie nicht nur Geschichte und Geschichten. Heute ist der Hof auch Veranstaltungsort für Musik, Theater und Kleinkunst, Ausstellungsort für thematische und künstlerische Schauen sowie ein Ort der Naturbegegnung und des Genusses.

Darüber hinaus kann man sich im Tuppenhof trauen lassen. So beginnt an diesem historischen Ort immer wieder etwas Neues, Hoffnungsvolles.

Fotos ©Klaus Stevens Kaarst

Mehr lesen »

Lehm-Besonderheit:

Moderne Lehmbaustoffe kennenlernen

In den 1990er-Jahren – dem Zeitraum der Instandsetzung des Tuppenhofs – war Lehmbau fast ausschließlich eine Denkmalschutzaufgabe. Die überzeugenden Auswirkungen auf das Raumklima und die Innenraumgestaltung machten den Baustoff aber zunehmend auch für den Neubau interessant.

Hinzu kam, dass die Claytec die Produktion von Lehmbaustoffen industrialisierte und Produkte anbieten konnte, die einfach zu verarbeiten waren. Heute ergänzen beispielsweise Lehmbauplatten für den modernen Trockenbau und YOSIMA Lehm Designputz in 146 Farbtönen das Sortiment.

Beim Museum Tuppenhof nutzten die Handwerker die traditionelle Lehmbautechnik, indem das Holztragwerk mit Eichenstaken, Weidenruten und Lehm ausgefacht wurde. Ein Lehm Unterputz mit Stroh sowie ein feiner Lehmputz bilden die Wandoberfläche, die dann noch farbig gestaltet werden kann.

Details zum Objekt:

Objekt auf der Karte

Teilen Sie Ihre Erfahrungen zu diesem Objekt:


Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen

Mehr Informationen zu den Baustoffen anfordern

  • Fachwerk
Bitte bestätigen Sie, dass wir Ihnen Informationen zusenden sollen.