Engels House

Zurück zur ÜbersichtBack to overview

Engels House

A landmark for a pioneer

Friedrich Engels, one of the fathers of Marxism, became familiar with the entrepreneurial side of early capitalism during his childhood. His family owned a textile manufacture in Barmen in North Rhine-Westphalia, now a district of Wuppertal. Today you can appreciate the bourgeois, late-baroque-style of the Engels family’s half-timbered house in its new role as a museum. Thanks to an extensive renovation, that followed the guidelines for preservation of a historical landmark, you can experience the beginnings of a revolutionary development.

Supporting role: construction made of wood and earthen clay

Standing in front of the Engels House, it is difficult to make the connection to the labour movement. The two-storey residential building with mansard roof shines with its black slate facade, white window frames and green shutters in stately splendour. Inside you are welcomed by wooden parquet floors, stuccoed walls and ceilings as well as antique wallpapers.

Celebrating the occasion of Friedrich Engels’ 200th birthday, the former residence was extensively renovated following the highest historical preservation standards. Before construction work began, the decision was made to restore the house to its state at the turn of the 19th century. Extensive historical research was also carried out beforehand, which served as the basis for planning a renovation which would fulfil all requirements for the preservation of such a landmark.

Markus Truskawa from the Landmark Protection Authority of the City of Wuppertal explains the procedure: “The findings of the well-founded research have led, for example, to the use of historical materials. In particular, the use of modern earthen building materials and linseed oil paints lead to a great room climate that is not only extremely sustainable but which visitors will certainly feel and experience.”

Forgotten jewel: Valuable wallpaper on the walls

In addition to restoration of the load-bearing structure with clay plaster and reed mats, the roof and façades were re-shingled, and windows and shutters were restored. Inside, historical wooden components such as door panels and frames, baseboards and the stairs were given new shine.

The individual parquet sections were numbered, removed, refinished and put back piece by piece. A special surprise awaits you in the music room. Unexpectedly, during restoration, antique wallpaper was found there. It has been uncovered and protected with a transparent coating so that it can now be admired.

Origin story: the workers’ situation

The young Friedrich Engels saw the precarious situation the workers at his parents’ factory found themselves in. On a trip to Manchester to visit his father’s cotton mill, he met Karl Marx in Cologne. It was in Manchester that Engels first came into contact with the young labour movement, with which he immediately sympathised.

At the Museum of Industrial Culture housed in the Engels House, history is experienced as if in a time-lapse – from the bourgeoisie rooms to the Marxist worldview.

Photos ©Stefanie vom Stein, Media Centre, City of Wuppertal

Read more »

Clay Highlight:

Protected landmark preservation begins with building materials from Claytec

Under the exterior slate façade, as well as inside under the stucco and the antique wallpaper, there is a half-timbered framework in the Engels House that was originally filled with clay earth and plastered over. In the course of its more than 200-year history, the building has undergone major changes. In some places, clay was replaced with pumice.

In keeping with landmark preservation standards, Hebgen architects resorted to earthen clay again. New walls were built using ecological drywall with straw drywall boards and clay plaster. In some cases, wall heating was also integrated.

The clay plaster SanReMo from Claytec is ideal for renovations because it adheres to a wide variety of substrates. Priming with “Primer RED” also supports adhesion on surfaces that offer little grip or are non-absorbent. The roof pitch, insulated with wood fibre boards, were covered with a layer of reed matting before plastering.

Clay topcoat fine finishing plaster from Claytec, applied in a single-layer, gives the walls a fine finish. To ensure that it stays that way for a long time, Claytec Hessian mesh was used for reinforcement.

Details:

Location on the map

Share what you experienced during your visit:


Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen

Request more information on the building materials

  • Half-Timber House
    Fine-Finish Surfaces
    Insulation
    Clay Plaster
Please confirm that we should send you information.

Engels-Haus

Zurück zur ÜbersichtZurück zur Übersicht

Engels-Haus

Baudenkmal für einen Vordenker

Friedrich Engels, einer der Väter des Marxismus, lernte den Frühkapitalismus als Kind von Unternehmerseite kennen. Seiner Familie gehörte eine Textilmanufaktur im nordrhein-westfälischen Barmen, heute ein Stadtteil von Wuppertal.  Das gutbürgerliche Fachwerkwohnhaus der Familie Engels im Stil des bergischen Spätbarocks können Sie heute als Museum besuchen – und dank aufwendiger denkmalgerechter Renovierung an den Anfang einer revolutionären Entwicklung gelangen.

Tragende Rolle: Konstruktion aus Holz und Lehm

Wenn Sie vor dem Engels-Haus stehen, fällt die Verbindung zur Arbeiterbewegung schwer. Das zweigeschossige Wohnhaus mit Mansarddach erstrahlt mit seiner schwarzen Schieferfassade, den weißen Fensterrahmen und grünen Fensterläden in stattlicher Pracht. Im Inneren empfangen Sie Holzparket, Stuck an Wänden und Decken sowie besonders wertvolle Tapeten.

Das ehemalige Wohnhaus wurde anlässlich des 200 Geburtstags von Friedrich Engels nach höchsten denkmalpflegerischen Standards renoviert. Vor den Baumaßnahmen stand die Entscheidung, mit der Restaurierung des Hauses auf den Zustand um 1800 zu zielen. Ebenfalls vorab fanden umfangreiche Bauforschungen statt, die als Grundlage für die denkmalgerechte Ertüchtigung dienten.

Markus Truskawa von der Unteren Denkmalschutzbehörde der Stadt Wuppertal erläutert das Vorgehen „Die Erkenntnisse der fundierten Grundlagenforschung haben zum Beispiel dazu geführt, dass wieder historische Materialien verwendet wurden. Insbesondere die Verwendung von modernen Lehmbaustoffen und Leinölfarben führen zu einem tollen Raumklima, das nicht nur extrem nachhaltig ist, sondern welches die Besucher sicherlich erfühlen und erleben werden.“

Vergessener Schmuck: Wertvolle Tapeten an den Wänden

Neben der Instandsetzung der tragenden Konstruktion mit Lehmputz und Schilfrohrmatten wurde auch Dach und Fassaden neu verschiefert sowie Fenster und Fensterläden restauriert. Im Inneren erhielten historische Holzbauteile wie Türblätter und -zargen, Fußleisten und die Treppe neuen Glanz.

Das Parkett wurde Stück für Stück nummeriert, aufgenommen, aufbereitet und wieder eingesetzt. Eine besondere Überraschung erwartet Sie im Musikzimmer.  Dort fand man eine nicht vermutete wertvolle Tapete. Sie wurde freigelegt und kann nun mit einer Schutzschicht versehen von Ihnen bestaunt werden.

Persönlicher Ausgangspunkt: Die Lage der Arbeiter

Der junge Friedrich Engels sah im elterlichen Betrieb die prekäre Lage der Arbeiter. Auf einer Reise nach Manchester zu einer väterlichen Baumwollspinnerei lernte er Karl Marx in Köln kennen. In Manchester bekam Engels zum ersten Mal Kontakt zur jungen Arbeiterbewegung, der er sich sofort verbunden fühlte.

Als Besucher des im Engels-Haus untergebrachten Museums der Industriekultur erleben Sie Geschichte im Zeitraffer – von den gutbürgerlichen Räumen bis zum marxistischen Weltbild.

Fotos ©Stefanie vom Stein, Medienzentrum Stadt Wuppertal

Mehr lesen »

Lehm-Besonderheit:

Ideale Basis für denkmalgerechte Renovierung: Baustoffe von CLAYTEC

Unter der Schieferfassade sowie unter dem Stuck und den wertvollen Tapeten an den Innenwänden steckt im Engels-Haus eine Fachwerkkonstruktion, die ursprünglich mit Lehm ausgefacht und verputzt wurde. Im Laufe seiner über 200-jährigen Geschichte wurde das Gebäude teilweise stark verändert. Dabei wurde stellenweise Lehm durch Bims ersetzt.

Bei der denkmalgerechten Renovierung griffen die Verantwortlichen vom Architekturbüro Hebgen nun wieder auf Lehmputz zurück. Auch neue Wände wurden in ökologischer Trockenbauweise mit Strohplatten und Lehmputz errichtet. Teilweise wurde dabei auch eine Wandheizung integriert.

Der verwendete Lehmputz SanReMo von CLAYTEC ist für Sanierungen ideal, denn er haftet auf unterschiedlichsten Untergründen. Eine vorherige Grundierung mit „Die Rote“ hilft zusätzlich bei wenig griffigen oder nichtsaugenden Untergründen. Die mit Holzfaserplatten gedämmten Dachschrägen bekamen vor dem Verputzen eine Lage aus Schilfrohrmatten.

Der einlagig aufgetragene Lehm-Oberputz fein von CLAYTEC verleiht den Wänden ein feines Finish. Damit dies auch lange so bleibt, wurde Jutegewebe als Armierung eingesetzt.

Details zum Objekt:

Erfahrungen teilen

Objekt auf der Karte

Teilen Sie Ihre Erfahrungen zu diesem Objekt:


Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen

Mehr Informationen zu den Baustoffen anfordern

  • Fachwerk
    Feine Oberflächen
    Lehmputz
Bitte bestätigen Sie, dass wir Ihnen Informationen zusenden sollen.