Urthaler Hotel in Seiser Alm

Zurück zur ÜbersichtBack to overview

Urthaler Hotel in Seiser Alm

The best of yesterday and today

Nature knows no time – it knows the cycle of becoming, being and passing away. We humans have given this cycle a direction and call it innovation. But in the process, we have distanced ourselves further and further from nature and have landed on the metaphorical hamster wheel. At the South Tyrolean Urthaler Hotel in Seiser Alm, you will forget about time. The philosophy behind the architecture of the 5-star hotel: use centuries-old building know-how and implement it with the technology of our time.

Traditional timber construction know-how – the first Holz100 hotel

Around 250 million years ago, the Dolomites rose from the primordial sea Tethys. Wind, rain and sun created the mountain formations you can admire today. Here, at 2,000 metres above sea level, you will find the Urthaler Hotel in Seiser Alm, in the middle of the largest alpine high pasture in Europe.

This hotel and spa is built entirely of wood – a “Holz100” building – meaning it was made without use of chemical wood preservatives, glue, nails or screws. The solid construction consists of staggered layers of wood connected by dowels. The bone-dry dowels are inserted between the two pieces being connected and swell due to the residual moisture in the wood. The construction timber was cut during the waning moon. This makes it particularly dense and not susceptible to pests.

When the Urthaler family and their architects first developed the idea of a completely wooden hotel in 2002, Erwin Thoma had only been offering the Holz100 solid wood system for ten years. The hotel was the first non-residential building built using this construction method.

A farmhouse oven as a model – wall heating with clay earth

For the interior design, the traditional South Tyrolean farmhouse parlour was the model – with lots of wood and pleasant warmth. In the past, a farmhouse oven made of earthen clay and stone provided warmth. In search of a modern alternative, Walter Urthaler, together with the company WEM, developed a wall heating system with drywall clayboards.

In winter, when the hiking trails are buried under snow and the slopes invite you to take part in all manner of winter sports, there is still a pleasant radiant warmth in the guestrooms of the hotel. If you are an allergy sufferer, this draught-free way of heating is particularly appealing, as no dust is stirred up.

Today, you can experience how timeless the hotel’s natural construction is almost 20 years after it was built. “Back to nature” is not a step backwards, but the integration of innovation with the laws of nature.

Read more »

Clay Highlight:

Clay heat storage in modern form – Drywall clayboards from CLAYTEC

Clay earth, a natural material, is an ideal partner for wall heating. It stores heat and releases it evenly. Unlike conventional heating, in-wall heating does not heat the air but rather the objects in the room. This radiant heat is comparable to the soothing warmth of the sun’s rays. In addition, the air in the room does not move, so there are no draughts or movement of dust.

An in-wall heating system can be embedded in a thick layer of clay plaster or – as in the case of the Urthalter Hotel – clad with modern drywall clayboards. Here, 25 mm thick drywall clayboards from CLAYTEC were used.

Details:

Share your experience

Location on the map

Share what you experienced during your visit:


Other suggestions in this region:

Modal schliessen

Voucher form

One spa voucher per room in the amount of € 30

Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen

Request more information on the building materials

  • Clay Drybuilding
Please confirm that we should send you information.

Hotel Urthaler Seiser Alm

Zurück zur ÜbersichtZurück zur Übersicht

Hotel Urthaler Seiser Alm

Das Beste von gestern und heute

Die Natur kennt keine Zeit – sie kennt den Kreislauf von Werden, Sein und Vergehen. Wir Menschen haben dem Kreislauf eine Richtung gegeben und nennen es Innovation. Doch dabei haben wir uns immer weiter von der Natur entfernt und sind schlussendlich im Hamsterrad gelandet. Auf der Südtiroler Seiser Alm Urthaler vergessen Sie die Zeit. Die Philosophie hinter der Architektur des 5-Sterne Hotels: jahrhundertealtes Bau-Know-how nutzen und mit der Technik unserer Zeit umsetzen.

Traditionelles Holzbauwissen – das erste Holz100-Hotel

Vor rund 250 Millionen Jahren schoben sich die Dolomiten aus dem Urmeer Tethys in die Höhe. Wind, Regen und Sonne schufen die Bergformationen, wie Sie sie heute bewundern können. Hier finden Sie in 2.000 Metern Höhe die Seiser Alm Urthaler, mitten in der größten Hochalm Europas.

Das Hotel mit Wellnessbereich ist komplett aus Holz errichtet – als Holz100-Haus ohne chemischen Holzschutz, Leim, Nägel und Schrauben. Die massive Konstruktion besteht aus versetzten Holzschichten, die durch Dübel verbunden werden. Die staubtrockenen Dübel werden ins Holz eingesetzt und quellen durch die Restfeuchte im Holz auf. Das Konstruktionsholz wurde bei abnehmendem Mond geschlagen. Deshalb ist es besonders dicht und unanfällig gegen Schädlinge.

Als das Bauherren-Ehepaar Urthaler die Idee des Holzhotels zusammen mit seinen Architekten im Jahr 2002 entwickelte, bot Erwin Thoma das Holz100-Haus erst gut zehn Jahre an. Das Hotel war das erste Nicht-Wohngebäude in dieser Bauweise.

Bauernofen als Vorbild – Wandheizung mit Lehm

Bei der Inneneinrichtung war die traditionelle Südtiroler Bauernstube Vorbild – mit viel Holz und einer angenehmen Wärme. Früher wärmte ein Bauernofen aus Lehm und Stein. Auf der Suche nach einer modernen Alternative entwickelte Walter Urthaler zusammen mit der Firma WEM eine Wandheizung mit Lehmbauplatten.

Im Winter, wenn die Wanderwege unter Schnee begraben sind und auf der Schneedecke die Pisten zum Wintersport einladen, erleben Sie in den Zimmern eine angenehme Strahlungswärme. Wenn Sie zu den Menschen mit Allergien gehören, ist diese zugluftfreie Art des Heizens für sie besonders angenehm, da kein Staub aufgewirbelt wird.

Wie zeitlos die natürliche Bauweise des Hotels ist, erleben Sie heute fast 20 Jahre nach der Errichtung genau wie am ersten Tag. „Zurück zu Natur“ ist kein Rückschritt, sondern die Integration der Entwicklung in die Gesetze der Natur.

Mehr lesen »

Lehm-Besonderheit:

Wärmespeicher Lehm in moderner Form – Lehmbauplatten von CLAYTEC

Der natürliche Baustoff Lehm ist ein idealer Partner für Wandheizungen. Er speichert die Wärme und gibt sie gleichmäßig ab. Anders als bei einer konventionellen Heizung wird dabei nicht die Luft, sondern die Masse im Raum erwärmt.

Diese Strahlungswärme ist vergleichbar mit der wohltuenden Wärme von Sonnenstrahlen. Zudem gerät die Raumluft nicht in Bewegung, sodass es weder Zugluft noch Staubbewegungen gibt.

Eine Wandheizung kann in einen dickschichtigen Lehmputz eingebettet werden oder – wie auf der Seiser Alm Urthalter – mit modernen Lehmbauplatten verkleidet sein. Hier wurden 25 mm starke Lehmplatten von CLAYTEC verwendet, die in Trockenbauweise verarbeitet werden.

Details zum Objekt:

Erfahrungen teilen

Objekt auf der Karte

Teilen Sie Ihre Erfahrungen zu diesem Objekt:


Weitere Objekte in dieser Region:

Modal schliessen

Gutscheinformular

einen Wellnesgutschein pro Zimmer in Höhe von 30 €

Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen

Mehr Informationen zu den Baustoffen anfordern

  • Trockenbau
Bitte bestätigen Sie, dass wir Ihnen Informationen zusenden sollen.