Hotel Sleep Wood

Zurück zur ÜbersichtBack to overview

Hotel Sleep Wood

“Mother nature” grants you a good night’s sleep

Nothing is as restful as a night in which you’ve slept well. The right room climate is important in making this possible. Building engineering physics, the science behind a good room climate, is complex. The good news for you is that to achieve a healthful indoor climate, nothing high-tech is required. Simply rely on the tried and tested knowledge of traditional timber and clay-earth building methods – and their contemporary implementation.

At the Sleep Wood Hotel in Eupen, Belgium, built from wood and clay earth, you will get a good night’s sleep, nodding off in a balanced room climate with the scent of wood wafting through the air. The combination of wood and clay-earth construction is also responsible for this.

Natural building materials for a healthy indoor climate

A room temperature of 18 degrees and 40-60 percent humidity are the ideal parameters for a good night’s sleep. This delicate balance can be difficult to maintain. If you share the same room with several people, or if steam from the shower enters the room, the humidity increases. In the long term, this can even lead to mould and impair good health.

In the Sleep Wood Hotel, the walls of the rooms are made of wood and clay earth. These natural building materials regulate the humidity by absorbing excess water from the air and releasing it when air humidity drops. Sounds high-tech – but it’s a natural process.

The room temperature is regulated by a wall heating system embedded in the clay plaster. Due to its high thermal mass, clay earth is a good store of heat and pairs wonderfully with the in-wall heating system, evenly distributing the radiant heat. This also has a positive effect on your well-being.

Ecological architecture protects the environment

The hotel was built with Holz100 wood, supplied by Thoma Holz. The solid wood house was built by the pioneer for ecological building in Belgium, construction joinery firm DRUWID Michael Thönnes. The philosophy behind the wooden house: If used correctly, Wood, as a building material, is the natural answer to the pressing challenges facing builders today. The same goes for modern clay-earth building.

The operation of the hotel is also guided by ecological principles. A water pump system heats the rooms in winter and cools them in the summer. This system is able to reduce the room temperature by up to 5°C. This is only possible due to the clay plaster which prevents humidity from condensing on walls as they are cooled.

Sleep Wood owner Arthur Genten, hopes that by experiencing an environmentally consciously built and operated hotel, his guests will gain an appreciation for this type of construction and lifestyle, and perhaps replicate it at home.

You can also experience a connection with nature in the timeless furnishings of the hotel. Tree trunks serve as pedestals for the sinks, a specially shaped root becomes a sculpture and the reception counter is made of clay earth.

If you are looking for nature outside the hotel, we recommend a trip to the nearby High Fens. After all, a long walk on the high plateau between the Eifel and the Ardennes also helps create the best conditions for healthy sleep.

Read more »

Clay Highlight:

Claytec building materials: Low-tech for a healthy, feel-good atmosphere

The Sleep Wood hotel lives up to its name with the use of resource-saving home technology and the use of the natural building materials wood and clay earth. The wall surfaces of the rooms are made of wood and Claytec clay plaster. The thick-layer clay plaster is ideal in combination with in-wall heating – both for the installation and operation. As a good heat store, clay earth radiates heat evenly throughout the room. The topcoat for the plastered areas is YOSIMA designer clay plaster in white. Mother-of-pearl as an addition creates a fine shimmer and an exciting contrast to the wood elements in the rooms.

Clay plaster with integrated wall heating and cooling also ensures pleasant temperatures in the restaurant and in the hotel common spaces. For the wall surfaces in these spaces, straw was added to the YOSIMA topcoat, which underlines the hotel’s natural ambiance.

This ambiance begins as soon as you enter the hotel and are greeted by a counter made of natural clay earth that has been applied over wooden wickerwork. Here clay earth was used artistically and decoratively. In the restaurant, too, a decorative wall made of rammed earth blocks creates a warm backdrop for diners to enjoy their meal.

Details:

  • Clay used:Fine-Finish Surfaces, Insulation, Clay Plaster, Rammed Earth
  • Architecture:Modern Wood Construction
  • Use:Hotel
  • Craftsman:DRUWID Michael Thönnes
  • Location: 4700 Eupen, Neustraße 61
  • Country: Belgium
  • Show more: to the website
Leave a review

Location on the map

Write a review:


Modal schliessen

Voucher form

Free Extras, like use of an E-Bike or a Picnic for your hiking excursion

Modal schliessen

Hotel Sleep Wood

Zurück zur ÜbersichtZurück zur Übersicht

Hotel Sleep Wood

„Mutter Natur“ lässt Sie gut schlafen

Nichts ist so erholsam wie eine Nacht, in der Sie gut geschlafen haben. Wichtig dafür: das richtige Raumklima. Die dafür verantwortliche Bauphysik ist eine komplexe Wissenschaft. Die gute Nachricht für Sie: Hightech ist dafür nicht notwendig. Verlassen Sie sich einfach auf den Wissensschatz des traditionellen Holz- und Lehmbaus – und seiner zeitgemäßen Umsetzung.

In dem aus Holz und Lehm errichteten Sleep Wood Hotel im belgischen Eupen erleben Sie den entspannenden Duft des Holzes und die schlaffördernde Wirkung eines ausgewogenen Raumklimas. Auch dafür ist das Holz in Kombination mit Lehm verantwortlich.

Natürliche Baustoffe für gesundes Raumklima

18 Grad Raumtemperatur und 40-60 Prozent Luftfeuchtigkeit – das sind die idealen Parameter für einen guten Schlaf. Doch besonders wenn Sie sich mit mehreren Menschen in einem Zimmer aufhalten oder Wasserdampf aus der Dusche ins Zimmer gelangt, steigt die Luftfeuchtigkeit. Das kann langfristig sogar zu Schimmel führen und die Gesundheit beeinträchtigen.

Im Sleep Wood Hotel bestehen die Zimmerwände aus Holz und Lehm. Die natürlichen Baustoffe regulieren die Luftfeuchtigkeit, indem sie Wasser aus der Luft aufnehmen und später wieder abgeben. Klingt nach Hightech – ist aber ein natürlicher Vorgang.

Die Raumtemperatur wird über eine in den Lehmputz eingebettete Wandheizung reguliert. Lehm ist ein guter Wärmespeicher. Die Strahlungswärme wirkt sich zusätzlich positiv auf Ihr Wohlbefinden aus.

Ökologische Architektur schont die Umwelt

Das Hotel ist als Holz100 Massivholzhaus der Firma Thoma Holz errichtet und vom Pionier für ökologisches Bauen in Belgien, der Firma DRUWID Michael Thönnes realisiert worden. Die Philosophie hinter dem Holzhaus: Holz als Baumaterial ist – richtig behandelt – die natürliche Antwort auf die drängenden Herausforderungen beim Bauen. Gleiches gilt für den modernen Lehmbau.

Auch der Betrieb erfolgt nach ökologischen Gesichtspunkten. Über eine Wärmepumpe wird das Hotel im Winter geheizt und im Sommer gekühlt. Die Kühlung der Zimmer über die Wandheizung um bis zu 5 °C ist nur dank des Lehmputzes möglich. Er verhindert, dass sich entlang der kalten Wandbereiche Kondenswasser niederschlägt.

Mit dem Hotel verbindet der Besitzer Arthur Genten eine Mission: Durch das Erlebnis in einem umweltbewusst errichteten und betriebenen Haus zu übernachten, möchte er seinen Gästen Lust auf diese Bauweise machen.

Die Verbundenheit mit der Natur erleben Sie auch in der zeitlosen Ausstattung des Hotels. Baumstämme halten die Waschbecken, eine besonders geformte Wurzel wird zur Skulptur und die Theke der Rezeption ist aus Lehm gefertigt.

Wenn Sie auch außerhalb des Hotels die Natur suchen, empfehlen wir Ihnen einen Ausflug ins nahe gelegene Hohe Venn. Mit einem langen Spaziergang auf dem Hochplateau zwischen Eifel und Ardennen schaffen Sie übrigens ebenfalls beste Voraussetzungen für gesunden Schlaf

Mehr lesen »

Lehm-Besonderheit:

Lehmbaustoffe von Claytec: Lowtech für gesunde Wohlfühlatmosphäre

Das Naturhotel Sleep Wood macht seinem Namen mit der Verwendung von ressourcenschonender Haustechnik und den natürlichen Baustoffen Holz und Lehm alle Ehre. Die Wandoberflächen der Zimmer sind aus Holz und Claytec Lehmputz. Der dickschichtige Lehmputz ist ideal für die Kombination mit Wandheizungen – sowohl in der Installation als auch im Betrieb. Als guter Wärmespeicher gibt Lehm die Wärme gleichmäßig an den Raum ab. Abschließend wurden die verputzten Flächen mit YOSIMA Design-Lehmputz weiß beschichtet. Perlmutt als Zuschlag erzeugt einen feinen Schimmer, der einen spannenden Kontrast zur Holz-Ausstattung erzeugt.

Lehmputz mit integrierter Wandheizung und -kühlung sorgt auch im Restaurant und in den Fluren für angenehme Temperaturen. Für die Gestaltung der Wandoberfläche wurde der Zuschlag Stroh gewählt, der das handfeste Ambiente unterstreicht.

Bereits am Eingang begrüßt Sie eine Theke aus Naturlehm, der auf ein Holzgeflecht aufgebracht wurde. Hier wurde der Lehm künstlerisch dekorativ eingesetzt. Auch im Restaurant sorgt eine Deko-Wand aus Stampf-Lehm-Blocksteinen für ein passendes Ambiente.

Details zum Objekt:

Objekt auf der Karte

Teilen Sie Ihre Erfahrungen zu diesem Objekt:


Modal schliessen

Gutscheinformular

Kostenlose Extras, wie E-Bike Nutzung oder ein Picknick bei Wandern

Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen

Mehr Informationen zu den Baustoffen anfordern

  • Feine Oberflächen
    Innendämmung
    Lehmputz
    Stampflehm
Bitte bestätigen Sie, dass wir Ihnen Informationen zusenden sollen.