The Frankenhof Mill

Zurück zur ÜbersichtBack to overview

The Frankenhof Mill

The renewing power of nature

Wine improves if you leave it alone for a while. Cheese too. But a building? Not likely. The Frankenhof Mill in the southern tip of the Netherlands had been unused for decades when the restoration to it began. But it soon turned out that the neglect also offered opportunities. Today, as a guest in one of the two large holiday flats, you can experience a symbiosis of historical charm and modern comfort, achieved with the traditional building material clay earth and with a great deal of intuition and know-how for its application.

Water and wool were the basis for economic success

The Frankenhof Mill in Vaals, the Netherlands, was built in 1736 and became part of a weaving mill and textile factory in the years of early industrialisation. The concept of having specialised “industrial buildings” did not yet exist and so the building design was modelled after the country houses of the day.

For almost 200 years, the mill successfully produced different types of cloth. Napoleon’s army is said to have been equipped with felt from the Frankenhof Mill. In early 1900, textile production came to an end. Part of the building became a residential house, the rest fell into disrepair. In the second half of the 20th century, that chapter also ended and the mill was left to its own devices.

Traditional building materials build a bridge across time

In 2007 the building was on the verge of collapse and the rescue of the Frankenhof Mill, now on the list of national historical places, began. Together with the architect Emmanuel Laugs, the Limburg Land Trust created two large holiday flats out of the old mill.

For the holiday home “Huys”, 5 bedrooms and 4 bathrooms, as well as a large cooking and living area, were created in the right-wing of the building, which was still standing. Despite its new use, you can feel the history of the rooms everywhere: when you walk over the old stone tiles, light a fire in the stately fireplace or use the elaborately restored staircase.

Of the left-wing, only the foundation walls remained. It was rebuilt according to the records of how the building looked in 1877. In the “Weverij” holiday flat, 7 bedrooms with en suite bathrooms on the upper floor and an open-plan living-dining area on the ground floor invite you to spend time with family or friends.

In both the old and new wings, walls and ceilings were covered with drywall clay panels and plastered with earthen clay. The result is a traditional wall surface with modern characteristics. The clay earth regulates the indoor climate by buffering excessive humidity. Thanks to modern building technology with integrated wall and ceiling heating, it radiates a pleasant warmth.

Rare plants and animals are new neighbours

The revitalising power of nature is not only visible and tangible in the building. Old pear trees line the driveway. To the left and right are meadows between two small streams. One of them – the Zieversbeek – feeds the mill ponds via a sluice.

Unlike the building, the landscape has survived the period of neglect well. It has returned to its original state and has become home to rare animals and plants.

Read more »

Clay Highlight:

CLAYTEC earthen building materials for reconstruction and renovation

The conversion, renovation and reconstruction of the Frankenhof Mill made very different demands on architecture, planning and building materials. But the goal was always the same: To help the historical building regain its former glory and a new future.

The architect and clay expert Emmanuel Laugs used earthen-clay building materials from CLAYTEC for the entire building project. Clay drywall panels used as wall and ceiling cladding even-out unevenness in old buildings. They are fixed with a clay adhesive. A three-layer structure of reinforcement mortar with mesh, clay under- and topcoat plaster ensures a durable, high-quality wall surface.

In-surface radiant heating systems were installed in both flats – in the walls, the heating loops were embedded in the earthen clay plaster. Prefabricated panels were used on the ceilings. Heating is provided by geothermal energy in combination with a heat pump.

The thermal storage capacity of earthen clay is ideal for this type of heating with low water temperatures. The building material stores the heat and releases it evenly into the room. It is not the air that is heated, but the solid components of the room via radiant heat. Here, too, nature is the source of renewal and comfort.

Details:

Location on the map

Share what you experienced during your visit:


Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen

Request more information on the building materials

  • Half-Timber House
    Fine-Finish Surfaces
    Insulation
    Clay Plaster
    Clay Drybuilding
Please confirm that we should send you information.

Frankenhofmolen

Zurück zur ÜbersichtZurück zur Übersicht

Frankenhofmolen

Die erneuernde Kraft der Natur

Wein wird besser, wenn man ihn eine Weile sich selbst überlässt. Käse auch. Doch ein Gebäude? Eher nicht. Die Frankenhofmühle im südlichen Zipfel der Niederlande war seit Jahrzehnten ungenutzt, als man beschloss, sie zu restaurieren. Doch es stellte sich schnell heraus, dass die Vernachlässigung auch Chancen bot. Heute können Sie als Gast in einer der beiden großen Ferienwohnungen erleben, wie mit dem traditionellen Baustoff Lehm sowie mit viel Gespür und Know-how für dessen Verarbeitung eine Symbiose aus historischem Charme und modernem Komfort gelungen ist.

Wasser und Wolle waren Basis für wirtschaftlichen Erfolg

Die Frankenhofmühle im niederländischen Vaals wurde 1736 errichtet und im Zuge der frühen Industrialisierung Teil einer Spinnerei und Textilfabrik. Die Bauaufgabe „Industriegebäude“ gab es noch nicht und so orientierte man sich an der Architektur von Landhäusern.

Knapp 200 Jahre wurden erfolgreich unterschiedliche Tuche hergestellt. Napoleons Armee soll mit Filz der Frankenhofmolen ausgerüstet worden sein. Anfang 1900 war Schluss mit der Textilproduktion. Ein Teil der des Gebäudes wurde zum Wohnhaus, der Rest verfiel. In der zweiten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts endete auch das Kapitel und die Mühle wurde sich selbst überlassen.

Traditionelle Baustoffe schlagen eine Brücke über die Zeit

2007 – das Gebäude stand kurz vorm Einsturz – startete die Rettung der inzwischen als nationales Baudenkmal gelisteten Frankenhofmühle. Zusammen mit dem Architekten Emmanuel Laugs realisierte die Stichting het Limburgs Landschap zwei große Ferienwohnungen.

Für die Ferienwohnung „Huys“ wurden im noch erhaltenen, rechten Flügel 5 Schlafzimmern und 4 Bädern sowie ein großer Koch- und Aufenthaltsbereich geschaffen. Trotz der neuen Nutzung spüren Sie überall die Geschichte der Räume: wenn Sie über die alten Steinfliesen laufen, ein Feuer im stattlichen Kamin entzünden oder die aufwändig restaurierte Treppe nutzen.

Vom linken Flügel standen nur noch die Grundmauern. Er wurde entsprechend der Situation von 1877 wieder aufgebaut. In der Ferienwohnung „Weverij“ laden 7 Schlafzimmer mit en suite Bädern im Obergeschoss und ein offener Wohn-Essbereich im Erdgeschoss Sie mit Familie oder Freunden ein.

In Alt- und Neubau wurden Wände und Decken mit Lehmplatten verkleidet und mit Lehm verputzt. Es entstand eine traditionelle Wandoberfläche mit modernen Eigenschaften. Der Lehm reguliert das Raumklima, indem übermäßige Luftfeuchtigkeit abgepuffert wird. Dank moderner Haustechnik mit integrierter Wand- und Deckenheizung verbreitet er eine angenehme Wärme.

Seltene Pflanzen und Tiere sind neue Nachbarn

Die wiederbelebende Kraft der Natur wird nicht nur im Gebäude sicht- und spürbar. Alte Birnenbäume säumen die Zufahrt. Links und rechts liegen Wiesen zwischen zwei kleinen Flüsschen. Einer davon – der Zieversbeek – speiste über eine Schleuse die Mühlteiche.

Anders als das Gebäude hat die Landschaft die Zeit der Vernachlässigung gut überstanden. Sie hat zu ihrer Ursprünglichkeit zurückgefunden und ist Heimat für seltene Tiere und Pflanzen geworden.

Mehr lesen »

Lehm-Besonderheit:

Lehmbaustoffe von CLAYTEC für Wiederaufbau und Renovierung

Der Umbau, die Renovierung und der Wiederaufbau der Frankenhofmühle stellte ganz unterschiedliche Anforderungen an Architektur, Planung und Baustoffe. Das Ziel war aber immer das gleiche: Dem historischen Gebäude wieder zu altem Glanz und einer neuen Zukunft zu verhelfen.

Der Architekt und Lehm-Experte Emmanuel Laugs nutzte Lehmbaustoffe von CLAYTEC für das gesamte Bauprojekt. Lehmplatten als Wand- und Deckenverkleidung gleichen in Altbauten Unebenheiten aus. Sie werden mit einem Lehmkleber befestigt. Ein dreilagiger Aufbau aus Armierungsmörtel mit Gewebe, Lehm-Unter- und Oberputz sorgt für eine dauerhaft hochwertige Wandoberfläche.

In beiden Wohnungen wurden Flächenheizungen eingebaut – in den Wänden wurden die Heizschleifen in den Lehmputz eingebettet. An den Decken kamen vorgefertigte Platten zum Einsatz. Geheizt wird mit Erdwärme in Kombination mit einer Wärmepumpe.

Der Wärmespeicher Lehm ist ideal für diese Art des Heizens mit niedrigen Wassertemperaturen. Der Baustoff speichert die Wärme und gibt sie gleichmäßig an den Raum ab. Dabei wird nicht die Luft erwärmt, sondern über Strahlungswärme die festen Bestandteile des Raums. Auch hier ist die Natur Quelle von Erneuerung und Komfort.

Details zum Objekt:

Objekt auf der Karte

Teilen Sie Ihre Erfahrungen zu diesem Objekt:


Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen

Mehr Informationen zu den Baustoffen anfordern

  • Fachwerk
    Feine Oberflächen
    Innendämmung
    Lehmputz
    Trockenbau
Bitte bestätigen Sie, dass wir Ihnen Informationen zusenden sollen.