Extraordinary Veurs

Zurück zur ÜbersichtBack to overview

Extraordinary Veurs

Building the future on the foundation of the past

Extraordinary – that is exactly what your stay here will be. The large holiday home between Aachen and Liège is an inspiration for living outside the ordinary in more ways than one. While the architecture combines openness with cosiness, very specific criteria are applied to the materials used. In doing this, the owners communicate an important message.

Giving old things a new life

It was the sun shining through the gaping roof of the old cow barn onto the dusty drinking trough that triggered the owners Bea and Herman Machiels’ desire to create something new out of the old barn. The smell of hay and wood did the rest.

The couple had renovated a neighbouring half-timbered house using clay-earth building materials, so they already knew that the only option for them was to use the natural building material again. Above all, they were convinced by the pleasant indoor climate offered by earthen-clay walls.

Clay earth regulates humidity by absorbing water from the air and releasing it again when the humidity drops. Pollutants and allergens in the air are also reduced, and mould growth is prevented.

Wide-open spaces with cosy corners

With the Dutch architect Emmanuel Laugs, the Machiels created a spacious holiday home out of the dilapidated barn. The four bedrooms can accommodate up to eight people. The open floorplan living area offers you a cosy gathering place.

Whilst gazing through the large windows of the gable walls onto the surrounding orchards, charmingly exposed wood beams and half-timbered walls remind you of the house’s history.

Specific criteria for building materials and interior

The owners also decided on clay earth because it corresponds to their credo. In half-timbered construction, the building material is the traditional and sensible complement to the wooden supporting structure. As a moisture regulator, clay earth protects the wood from moisture damage. A special quality of clay is its recyclability. Even clay that was used many hundreds of years ago can be soaked in water and reused.

This means that the building material meets the criteria that the owners defined for the holiday home: building materials and interior accessories used in the house should be local or recycled.

For this reason, you walk on oak floorboards made from local wood, sleep in beds from a workshop in Limburg, sit on chairs made from recycled PET and use towels made from recycled cotton. “It may be a bit more time consuming, but not always more expensive to look for products that are made locally” explains the owner.

Read more »

Clay Highlight:

Local, recyclable and more – CLAYTEC exceeds high standards

Its qualities in building biology and sustainability make clay earth a modern building material. CLAYTEC also offers a variety of clay building products for modern construction methods that meet today’s requirements. During the renovation and expansion of the holiday home in Veurs, the architect introduced the owners to the variety of modern earth building materials.

In addition to the renovation of the half-timbering using classic clay earth construction methods, in which the compartments of the wooden framework were filled with a clay-plastered wattle and daub, clay-hemp panels were used as ceiling cladding. The drywall clay boards are screwed onto a wooden framework and the screws are spackled over.

Sections of the ceilings are used for the heating and cooling of the building. The radiant heating & cooling system was embedded in SanReMo clay plaster. This undercoat and topcoat plaster is particularly suitable for restoration, renovation and modernisation.

Some wall surfaces were given a fine finish using Clay Topcoat Plaster Coarse Bright with Straw. For others, YOSIMA clay designer plaster was used. Together with CLAYTEC, the owner developed her own colour shade – “Bea White”. Like all 146 factory-standard shades offered, it is created exclusively utilizing the natural colours of clay earth.

Details:

Share your experience

Location on the map

Share what you experienced during your visit:


Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen

Request more information on the building materials

  • Fine-Finish Surfaces
    Insulation
    Clay Plaster
    Clay Drybuilding
Please confirm that we should send you information.

Buitengewoon Veurs

Zurück zur ÜbersichtZurück zur Übersicht

Buitengewoon Veurs

Zukunft auf dem Fundament der Vergangenheit bauen

Buitengewoon bedeutet auf Deutsch außergewöhnlich – und genauso wohnen Sie hier. Das große Ferienhaus zwischen Aachen und Lüttich inspiriert gleich in mehrfacher Hinsicht für ein Wohnen außerhalb des Standards. Während die Architektur Offenheit mit Gemütlichkeit verbindet, werden an die verbauten und verwendeten Materialien spezifische Kriterien angelegt. Daran knüpfen die Besitzer eine wichtige Botschaft.

Altem ein neues Leben schenken

Es war die Sonne, die durch das klaffende Dach des alten Kuhstalls auf die verstaubte Tränke fiel, die bei den Besitzern Bea und Herman Machiels den Wunsch auslöste, hier etwas Neues zu schaffen. Der Geruch nach Heu und Holz tat sein Übriges.

Da das Ehepaar für sich selbst bereits ein benachbartes Fachwerkhaus mit Lehmbaustoffen renoviert hatte, kam für sie nur der Ausbau mit dem natürlichen Baustoff in Frage. Überzeugt hat sie vor allem das angenehme Raumklima, das Lehmwände bieten.

Lehm reguliert die Luftfeuchtigkeit, indem Wasser aus der Luft aufgenommen und bei sinkender Konzentration wieder abgegeben wird. Auch Schadstoffe und Allergene in der Luft werden reduziert, die Schimmelbildung verhindert.

Weite und offene Räume mit gemütlichen Winkeln

Zusammen mit dem niederländischen Architekten Emmanuel Laugs schufen sie aus dem nahezu verfallenen Stall ein großzügiges Ferienhaus. In den vier Schlafräumen finden Sie mit bis zu acht Personen Platz. Der offene Wohnbereich bietet Ihnen einen behaglichen Treffpunkt.

Während das offene Holztragwerk und sichtbare Fachwerkwände Sie auf eine gemütliche Art an die Geschichte des Hauses erinnern, fällt Ihr Blick durch die halbseitig verglasten Giebelwände auf die umliegenden Streuobstwiesen.

Spezifische Kriterien für Baustoffe und Materialien

Doch die Besitzer entschieden sich auch für Lehm, da er ihrem Credo entspricht. Der Baustoff ist im Fachwerkbau die traditionelle und sinnvolle Ergänzung zum Holztragwerk. Als Feuchteregulator schützt er das Holz vor Feuchteschäden. Eine besondere Eigenschaft von Lehm ist die Recyclingfähigkeit. Selbst Lehm, der vor vielen hundert Jahre verbaut wurde, kann mit Wasser eingesumpft und wiederverwendet werden.

Damit erfüllt der Baustoff die Kriterien, die die Besitzer für das Ferienhaus definierten: Es sollen Baustoffe und Materialien verwendet werden, die lokal oder recycelt sind.

Aus diesem Grund, laufen Sie über Eichendielen aus heimischem Holz, schlafen in Betten aus einer Werkstatt in Limburg, sitzen auf Stühlen aus recyceltem PET und nutzen Handtücher aus recycelter Baumwolle. „Es kostet vielleicht etwas mehr Zeit, die passenden Produkte zu finden, aber finanziell ist es kein Mehraufwand“ erklärt die Besitzerin.

Mehr lesen »

Lehm-Besonderheit:

Lokal, recycelbar und noch mehr – CLAYTEC übertrifft die hohen Ansprüche

Seine baubiologischen und nachhaltigen Eigenschaften machen Lehm per se zu einem modernen Baustoff. CLAYTEC ermöglicht zudem mit unterschiedlichen Lehmbauprodukten eine moderne Bauweise, die heutige Anforderungen erfüllt. Bei der Renovierung und dem Ausbau des Ferienhauses in Veurs machte der Architekt die Bauherren mit der Vielzahl an modernen Lehmbaustoffen bekannt.

Neben der Renovierung des Fachwerks in klassischer Bauweise, bei der die Gefache mit einem lehmverputzten Flechtwerk ausgefacht wurden, kamen Lehm-Hanf-Platten als Deckenverkleidung zum Einsatz. Die Lehm-Trockenbauplatten werden auf eine Holz-Unterkonstruktion geschraubt und verspachtelt.

Teile der Decken werden zur Klimatisierung des Gebäudes genutzt. Das Flächen-Heiz- & Kühlsystem wurde mit dem Lehmputz SanReMo verputzt. Der Grund- und Deckputz eignet sich besonders für die Sanierung, Renovierung und Modernisierung.

Manche Wandoberflächen bekamen ein feines Finish aus Lehm-Oberputz grob HELL mit Stroh. Alternativ wurde der Lehm-Designputz YOSIMA verwendet. Gemeinsam mit CLAYTEC entwickelte die Bauherrin einen eigenen Farbton – „Bea Weiss“. Wie alle 146 werkseitige angebotenen Farbtöne basiert er ausschließlich auf der natürlichen Farbigkeit von Tonerden.

Details zum Objekt:

Erfahrungen teilen

Objekt auf der Karte

Teilen Sie Ihre Erfahrungen zu diesem Objekt:


Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen

Mehr Informationen zu den Baustoffen anfordern

  • Feine Oberflächen
    Innendämmung
    Lehmputz
    Trockenbau
Bitte bestätigen Sie, dass wir Ihnen Informationen zusenden sollen.