The Old Carpentry Boutique Hotel

Zurück zur ÜbersichtBack to overview

The Old Carpentry Boutique Hotel

Preserving a residential idyll

Cologne was already a large city in Roman times. The surrounding countryside, however, was long dominated by villages. In some places, you can still feel this today – for example in Cologne Weiß. The city district is picturesquely situated at a bend in the Rhine on the south side of the metropolis. In the middle of the old village centre is the Old Carpentry Boutique Hotel. The house, dating from 1892, has been renovated in keeping with the requirements for historical preservation. Coloured earthen-clay walls and stylish antiques lend the rooms an idyllic charm.

A house with history

Cologne Weiß has only belonged to the city of Cologne since 1975. By then, the brick house with the frieze board eaves and the symmetrical façade had already been standing for almost 100 years. It was built at the end of the 19th century as a residence for the Wildenberg family, carpenters by trade.

Over the years, the building was used for a variety of purposes: first as a furniture and coffin-making workshop, then as a corner shop, and finally as a pharmacy. In the meantime, the clinker brick façade had also disappeared under a coat of white paint.

In 2013, the transformation into a boutique hotel where you can forget about time began. On the outside, the brickwork was stripped of paint and the large shop windows on the ground floor were also restored to the original arched windows.

Today you have the choice of three double rooms and a family suite. You can enjoy breakfast in the cosy café on the ground floor. A flat in a neighbouring renovated half-timbered house completes the range of accommodation.

Charming Rooms

During the course of the renovation, which followed government historical preservation guidelines, the original materials in the home’s interior were uncovered and restored. The old floorboards, for example, were refurbished. In the attic, you can see the old roof beams.

The walls were plastered with earthen-clay plaster in a variety of colours to match the individual rooms. As a traditional building material, clay earth fulfils the historical preservation requirements. As a natural building material, it allows you to breathe freely as well as get a restful night’s sleep. It regulates the humidity in the room air and even binds pollutants and allergens.

The interior has been furnished with great attention to historical detail. Immerse yourself in the time period of the home’s construction. Coffered doors with historic handles, stucco work on the ceilings, a free-standing claw-foot bathtub and carefully selected and combined antiques – together with the colourful clay-earth walls – create a new idyll.

Read more »

Clay Highlight:

Walls with clay plaster – by Claytec

During the conversion of the historic residential and commercial building, pains were taken to restore the house to its original condition – of course, adapted to its current use as a hotel and café.

The walls were plastered with earthen clay. The colour design of the rooms was done with chalk paints and in the café with YOSIMA clay design plaster in Kolumba grey. The natural variation in available shades of clay is used for the colouring. Claytec offers a total of 146 natural colours.

In the guest rooms, in-wall heating was integrated into the plaster. The heat storage capacity of clay earth is ideal for this type of heating. The resulting radiant heat is particularly pleasant and draught-free.

Details:

Location on the map

Share what you experienced during your visit:


Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen

Request more information on the building materials

  • Fine-Finish Surfaces
    Clay Plaster
Please confirm that we should send you information.

Boutique Hotel Alte Schreinerei

Zurück zur ÜbersichtZurück zur Übersicht

Boutique Hotel Alte Schreinerei

Wohnidylle bewahren

Köln war schon zu Römerzeiten eine Großstadt. Das Umland war jedoch lange dörflich geprägt. An manchen Stellen spüren Sie das heute noch – beispielsweise in Köln Weiß. Der Stadtteil liegt malerisch in einem Rheinbogen im Süden der Millionenstadt. Und mitten im alten Dorfkern liegt das kleine Boutique-Hotel Alte Schreinerei. Das Haus aus dem Jahr 1892 wurde denkmalgerecht saniert. Farbige Lehmwände und stilwolle Antiquitäten verleihen den Zimmern einen idyllischen Charme.

Ein Haus mit Geschichte

Der Stadtteil Weiß gehört erst seit 1975 zu Köln. Da stand das Backsteinhaus mit dem gemauerten Trauffries und der symmetrischen Fassade schon fast 100 Jahre. Es wurde Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts als Wohnhaus für die Schreinerfamilie Wildenberg errichtet.

Über die Jahre wechselten die Nutzungen: erst Möbel- und Sargschreinerei, dann Tante-Emma-Laden und zum Schluss Apotheke. Inzwischen war auch die Klinkerfassade unter einem weißen Anstrich verschwunden.

2013 begann die Transformation in das Boutique-Hotel, in dem Sie die Zeit vergessen können. Außen wurde das Mauerwerk wieder sichtbar gemacht und auch die großen Schaufenster im EG wurden wieder in Rundbogenfenster verwandelt.

Heute haben Sie die Wahl zwischen drei Doppelzimmer und einer Familiensuite. Im gemütlichen Café im Erdgeschoss genießen Sie das Frühstück. Ein Appartement in einem benachbarten sanierten Fachwerkhaus ergänzt das Übernachtungsangebot.

Zimmer mit Charme

Im Rahmen der denkmalgerechten Renovierung wurde auch im Inneren die alte Substanz wieder freigelegt und hergestellt. So wurden die alten Dielenböden aufbereitet. Im Dachgeschoss sehen Sie die alten Dachbalken.

Die Wände erhielten einen Lehmputz, der in den einzelnen Zimmern zudem farbig gestaltet wurde. Als traditioneller Baustoff erfüllt Lehm die Ansprüche des Denkmalschutzes. Als natürlicher Baustoff lässt er Sie entspannt schlafen und befreit durchatmen. Er reguliert die Feuchtigkeit in der Raumluft und bindet sogar Schadstoffe und Allergene.

Die Innenausstattung erfolgte mit viel Liebe zum historischen Detail. Tauchen Sie ein in die Zeit der Erbauung. Kassettentüren mit historischen Griffen, Stuckarbeiten an den Decken, eine freistehende Badewanne mit Löwenfüssen sowie sorgfältig ausgesuchte und kombinierte Antiquitäten – zusammen mit der den farbig gestalteten Lehmwänden – schaffen eine neue Idylle.

Mehr lesen »

Lehm-Besonderheit:

Wände mit Lehmputz – von Claytec

Beim Umbau des historischen Wohn- und Geschäftshauses wurde Bezug genommen auf den ursprünglichen Zustand – natürlich angepasst an die heutige Nutzung als Hotel und Café.

Die Wände erhielten einen Lehmunterputz. Die farbige Gestaltung der Zimmer erfolgte mit Kreidefarben und im Café mit YOSIMA Lehm-Designputz in Kolumbagrau. Für den Farbton wird die natürliche Farbigkeit von Tonerden genutzt. Insgesamt stellt Claytec 146 natürlich Farbtöne zur Verfügung.

In den Gästezimmern wurde eine Wandheizung in den Putz integriert. Der Wärmespeicher Lehm ist für diese Art der Heizung ideal. Die entstehende Strahlungswärme ist besonders angenehm und zugluftfrei.

Details zum Objekt:

Objekt auf der Karte

Teilen Sie Ihre Erfahrungen zu diesem Objekt:


Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen

Mehr Informationen zu den Baustoffen anfordern

  • Feine Oberflächen
    Lehmputz
Bitte bestätigen Sie, dass wir Ihnen Informationen zusenden sollen.