MY SPACE Art Studio

Zurück zur ÜbersichtBack to overview

MY SPACE Art Studio

Building and work of art in one

Where does art end, where does architecture begin? The Bauhaus school, the cradle of classical modernism, did not distinguish between art and craft. And neither does the sculptor Max Seibald. When he converted an abandoned saddler’s house in the Carinthian community of Großkirchheim, he created an object at the juncture between sculpture and house. While the façade is clad with weathering steel panels, the interior walls are plastered with earthen clay. Due to its elastic quality, the natural building material allows for the quality of workmanship desired by the artist down to the last detail.

A minimalist sculpture – for living and working

The name My Space is well chosen. Here, someone has appropriated an empty space. By creatively transforming the dilapidated building into a place of art and culture, the owner, resident and sculptor Max Seibald configured the space according to his own ideas.

In accordance with his understanding of art and architecture, he created a sculptural building. A small model called “urban form” – a small forged metal sculpture – shows the design idea that was realised in cooperation with architect Gerhard Kopeinig.

A building reduced to the minimal, consisting of an almost two-storey plinth, above which is a gabled roof floating on a glass band. For a roof terrace, the roof was “pushed apart” in the middle so that it now protrudes at the gable ends.

A contemplative interior – with an exterior effect

Inside, the ground floor is dedicated to art, the first floor and the attic to residential space. Drywall boards made of clay earth and wood fibre were used for the few room-dividing fixtures and the walls.

The ground floor is one large room. The single-flight staircase to the upper rooms protrudes across it like a sculpture. The walls are solid except for three openings – the door and two floor-to-ceiling windows.

The walls and their surfaces take on special importance in a space that is so inwardly focused. A warm grey clay plaster not only gives them a bright colourfulness, but also corresponds to the design requirements. Clay earth is a material that can be creatively shaped and refined by hand.

A place for encounters – with art

For all its difference from the surrounding buildings, the house is integrated into the context of the site – a place with a mining tradition and in the direct vicinity of a zinc smelter listed on the national registry of historical places. The gable roof and the straight-lined cubature of the artists’ house are reflected in the existing buildings. “I perceive the entire ensemble as a sculpture,” explains the artist.

Programmatically, Max Seibald sees the house as a contribution to the cultural life of his home village and the region. He regularly organises exhibitions and artistic events on the ground floor, during which you can visit the house.

Visits are possible during the summer exhibition in August (Wed. to Fri. from 16-19h) or by special arrangement.

Contact: seibald.m@a1.net / mobile:  +43 664 4634033

Read more »

Clay Highlight:

Walls with a mission – comprised of clay earth building materials from CLAYTEC

The sculptor Max Seibald transformed the dilapidated building into “his place” with only a few spatial interventions. For this, he mainly used natural building materials. Wood and clay earth for the construction. Sheep’s wool from East Tyrol was used for insulation.

With modern drywall clay boards, interior walls can be built quickly and easily. When plastering with clay, a glass fabric mesh was incorporated as reinforcement.

Wood fibreboards were used for the interior insulation. They were adhered to the room side of the exterior walls using clay mortar and then plastered with earthen clay. After priming, the walls were given a high-quality finish with YOSIMA clay designer plaster in “Kolumba-Grau”.

The neutral grey has proven itself as a background for the presentation of artworks and can be given a variety of individual design finishes using various handicraft techniques. The grey colour results solely from the addition of different coloured clays.

Details:

Location on the map

Share what you experienced during your visit:


Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen

Request more information on the building materials

  • Fine-Finish Surfaces
    Insulation
    Clay Plaster
    Clay Drybuilding
Please confirm that we should send you information.

Atelier MY SPACE

Zurück zur ÜbersichtZurück zur Übersicht

Atelier MY SPACE

Gebäude und Kunstwerk in einem

Wo endet Kunst, wo beginnt Architektur? Das Bauhaus, Wiege der Klassischen Moderne, unterschied nicht zwischen Kunst und Handwerk. Und auch der Bildhauer Max Seibald tut es nicht. Als er ein verlassenes Sattlerhaus in der Kärntner Gemeinde Großkirchheim umbaute, schuff er ein Objekt an der Schnittstelle zwischen Skulptur und Haus. Während die Fassade mit Cortenstahlplatten verkleidet ist, sind die Innenwände mit Lehm verputzt. Der natürliche Baustoff lässt aufgrund seiner plastischen Qualität die vom Künstler gewünschte Verarbeitungsqualität bis ins Detail zu.

Eine minimalistische Skulptur – zum Wohnen und Arbeiten

Der Name My Space ist gut gewählt. Hier hat sich jemand einen leerstehenden Raum angeeignet. Durch die gestalterische Transformation des verfallenen Gebäudes in einen Ort der Kunst und Kultur kreiert der Besitzer, Bewohner und Bildhauer Max Seibald den Raum nach seinen Vorstellungen.

Entsprechend seines Kunst- und Architekturverständnisses schafft er ein skulpturales Gebäude. Ein kleines Modell mit dem Namen „urbane Form“ – eine kleine geschmiedete Metallskulptur – zeigt die Entwurfsidee, die zusammen mit dem Architekten Gerhard Kopeinig umgesetzt wurde.

Ein auf ein Minimum reduzierter Bau, bestehend aus einem fast zweigeschossigen Sockel, darüber ein Satteldach, das auf einem Glasband schwebt. Für eine Dachterrasse wurde das Dach mittig „auseinandergeschoben“, sodass es nun an den Giebelseiten übersteht.

Ein kontemplativer Innenraum – mit Außenwirkung

Im Inneren ist das Erdgeschoss der Kunst, OG und Dachgeschoss dem Wohnen gewidmet. Für die wenigen raumbildenden Einbauten und die Wände nutzte der Künstler Lehm- und Holzfaserplatten.

Das Erdgeschoss ist ein einziger großer Raum. Die einläufige Treppe in die oberen Räume ragt wie eine Skulptur quer hinein. Die Wände sind bis auf drei Öffnungen – die Tür und zwei bodentiefe Fenster – geschlossen.

Die Wände und ihre Oberflächen bekommen in dem auf sich konzentrierten Raum eine besondere Bedeutung. Mit einem grauen Lehmputz erhalten sie nicht nur eine lebendige Farbigkeit, sondern entsprechend auch dem gestalterischen Anspruch. Lehm als Werkstoff lässt sich kreativ formen und handwerklich veredeln.

Ein Ort für die Begegnung – mit der Kunst

Bei aller Differenz zu der umgebenden Bebauung ist das Haus in den Kontext des Ortes eingebunden – ein Ort mit Bergbautradition und in direkter Nachbarschaft zu einer denkmalgeschützten Zinkhütte. Das Satteldach und die geradlinige Kubatur des Künstlerhauses finden sich im Bestand wieder. „Ich nehme das Ensemble als Skulptur wahr“, erläutert der Künstler.

Programmatisch versteht Max Seibald das Haus als Beitrag zum Kulturleben in seinem Heimatdorf und der Region. Regelmäßig veranstaltet er im Erdgeschoss Ausstellungen und künstlerische Veranstaltungen, in deren Rahmen Sie das Haus besichtigen können.

Besichtigungen während der Sommerausstellung im August (Mi. bis Fr. von 16-19h) oder per Sondervereinbarung möglich.

Kontakt: seibald.m@a1.net / mobil:  +43 664 4634033

Mehr lesen »

Lehm-Besonderheit:

Wände mit einem Auftrag – bestehend aus Lehmbaustoffen von Claytec

Der Bildhauer Max Seibald hat das verfallene Gebäude mit nur wenigen räumlichen Interventionen zu „seinem Ort“ umgebaut. Dafür nutzte er vor allem natürliche Baustoffe. Holz und Lehm für die Konstruktion. Gedämmt wurde mit Schafswolle aus Osttirol.

Mit modernen Lehmbauplatten lassen sich in Trockenbauweise schnell und einfach Innenwände errichten. Beim Verputzen mit Lehm wurde ein Glasgewebe als Armierung eingearbeitet.

Für die Innendämmung wurden Holzfaserplatten genutzt. Sie werden mit Lehmmörtel raumseitig auf die Außenwände geklebt und ebenfalls mit Lehm verputzt. Nach der Grundierung erhielten die Wände mit YOSIMA Lehm-Designputz in Kolumba-Grau ein hochwertiges Finish.

Das neutrale Grau hat sich als Hintergrund für die Präsentation von Kunstwerken bewährt und lässt sich durch verschiedene Handwerkstechniken individuell gestalten. Die Farbigkeit beruht einzig auf dem Zusatz von entsprechenden Tonerden.

Details zum Objekt:

Objekt auf der Karte

Teilen Sie Ihre Erfahrungen zu diesem Objekt:


Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen

Mehr Informationen zu den Baustoffen anfordern

  • Feine Oberflächen
    Innendämmung
    Lehmputz
    Trockenbau
Bitte bestätigen Sie, dass wir Ihnen Informationen zusenden sollen.