Atelier Café

Zurück zur ÜbersichtBack to overview

Atelier Café

A recipe for success made from natural ingredients

Historical half-timbering in Wolfsburg, home of Volkswagen? Architecture connoisseurs think of buildings by Zaha Hadid and Alvar Aalto when they think of the city in Lower Saxony. Car enthusiasts think of the Autostadt. But around the corner from these three modern architectural highlights is an old half-timbered house that is home to the Atelier Café. Inside you will find gourmet fare and modern paintings. The right backdrop for these is provided by earthen-clay walls.

A real feast for the eyes

It was 25 years ago, in Wolfsburg’s oldest district, that the current owner Tobias Senft discovered the farmhouse dating from 1885. It was immediately clear: this is the ideal place for a restaurant where art and coffee complement each other. So the idea was born to show an ever-changing selection of paintings in the café.

But the art of cooking is also held in high regard at the Atelier Café. A trained chef, Tobias Senft makes much of what is available at the café himself – from jam to coffee and mineral water as well as ice cream. The products, which you can also buy to take home, are presented as works of art.

Lined up on shelves, in the proper light, the colourful spreads, glass water bottles and high-end coffees are staged. As with a painting, the background adds to the effect.

The colours of the clay plastered walls give the light a special liveliness. Their surface, which has a fine texture through the addition of flax to the plaster, also contributes.

Natural enjoyment all around

When making his products, Tobias Senft relies on organic ingredients wherever possible, as well as local provenance and processing. But the chef also thinks outside of the box.

Natural clay-earth building materials were used in the design of the café. They not only match the culinary concept but also round out the enjoyment of experiencing the café. Clay-earth wall surfaces have a positive influence on indoor air quality. They regulate humidity and bind pollutants and allergens.

If you pay a visit to the historic half-timbered house in winter, clay earth also enables you to enjoy both the charm of a historic farmhouse and the pleasant warmth of modern interiors. In order to insulate the building while keeping the half-timbering with its brick-lined frames visible, interior insulation of clay earth and softwood fibreboards was installed.

In summer, you have the choice of feasting your eyes on and, of course, eating the artfully presented delicacies in the modern interior or finding a spot outside on the terrace with the lushly flowering hydrangeas.

Read more »

Clay Highlight:

Temperature kept on point with insulation from CLAYTEC

The half-timbered building that is home to the Atelier Café is part of the historic centre of the district of Heßlingen in Wolfsburg. While the city around it has constantly changed, some streets in this district still bear the historical image of yesteryear. Many agree the former farmhouse building is one of the most beautiful in this area.

The unplastered half-timbering with red bricks and bright wood is striking. In order to preserve this charm and yet create spaces inside to meet the needs of the café and modern structural requirements, Claytec Pavadentro wood fibre insulation boards, Clay Adhesive and Reinforcing Mortar, as well as various types of clay plaster, were used.

The wood fibre insulation boards are affixed and doweled to the interior wall using the Clay Adhesive and Reinforcing Mortar over the entire underlying surface. The flexible boards are particularly well suited for half-timbered construction. The surface is then covered with flax mesh to help the Clay plasters adhere to the boards.

The non-insulated interior walls of the café were plastered with Claytec Clay Undercoat Plaster with Straw as well as with a Claytec Clay Top Coat Fine with Flax. Alternatively, Clay Plaster MINERAL 20 was used. It is a base and finishing plaster in one.

Details:

Location on the map

Share what you experienced during your visit:


Other suggestions in this region:

Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen

Request more information on the building materials

  • Fine-Finish Surfaces
    Insulation
    Clay Plaster
Please confirm that we should send you information.

Atelier Café

Zurück zur ÜbersichtZurück zur Übersicht

Atelier Café

Erfolgsrezept aus natürlichen Zutaten

Fachwerk in der Volkswagenstadt Wolfsburg? Architekturkenner denken bei der niedersächsischen Stadt an Bauten von Zaha Hadid und Alvar Aalto. Autoliebhaber an die Autostadt. Doch in unmittelbarer Nähe zu den drei modernen Architektur-Highlights liegt das alte Fachwerkhaus, in dem sich das Atelier Café befindet. Im Inneren treffen Sie auf Gourmetkunst und moderne Gemälde. Den passenden Hintergrund liefern Lehmwände.

Ein echter Augenschmaus

Es ist 25 Jahre her, dass der heutige Besitzer Tobias Senft das Bauernhaus aus dem Jahr 1885 im ältesten Stadtteil von Wolfsburg entdeckte. Sofort war klar: Das ist der ideale Ort für eine Gastronomie, in der sich Kunst und Kaffee ergänzen. So entstand die Idee, wechselnde Gemälde im Café zu zeigen.

Doch auch die Kochkunst wird im Atelier Café hochgehalten. Als Koch stellt Tobias Senft vieles, was Sie im Café erhalten, selber her – von der Marmelade über den Kaffee und das Mineralwasser bis zum Eis. Präsentiert werden die Produkte, die Sie auch für Zuhause erwerben können, wie Kunstwerke.

Aufgereiht auf Regalen und stimmungsvoll angestrahlt werden die farbigen Brotaufstriche, gläserne Wasserflaschen und hochwertige Kaffeepäckchen in Szene gesetzt. Wie bei einem Gemälde beeinflusst der Hintergrund die Wirkung.

Lehmverputzte und farbig gestaltete Wände schenken dem Licht eine besondere Lebendigkeit. Dazu trägt auch die Wandoberfläche bei, die durch den Zusatz von Flachs eine feine Struktur erhält.

Naturgenuss rundum

Bei der Herstellung seiner Produkte setzt Tobias Senft, wo immer es geht, auf Bio-Zutaten sowie eine lokale Herkunft und Verarbeitung. Doch der Koch guckt auch buchstäblich über den Tellerrand.

Für den Ausbau und die Gestaltung wurden natürliche Lehmbaustoffe verwendet. Sie passen nicht nur zum kulinarischen Konzept, sondern komplettieren auch Ihr Genusserlebnis. Lehm als Wandoberfläche beeinflusst das Raumklima positiv. Er reguliert die Luftfeuchtigkeit und bindet Schadstoffe und Allergene.

Wenn Sie dem historischen Fachwerkhaus im Winter einen Besuch abstatten, ermöglicht Lehm auch, dass Sie beides genießen können: den Charm des historischen Bauernhauses und die angenehme Wärme moderner Innenräume. Damit das Fachwerk mit den ausgemauerten Gefachen sichtbar bleibt, wurde eine Innendämmung aus Lehm und Holzweichfaserplatten eingebracht.

Im Sommer haben Sie die Wahl, sich in den modernen Innenräumen an den kunstvoll präsentierten Köstlichkeiten satt zu sehen und natürlich zu essen. Oder Sie suchen sich einen Platz im Außenbereich mit den üppig blühenden Hortensien.

Mehr lesen »

Lehm-Besonderheit:

Temperatur auf den Punkt mit Innendämmung von Claytec

Das Fachwerkhaus, in dem das Atelier Café Zuhause ist, gehört zum historischen Ortskern des Wolfsburger Stadtteils Heßlingen. Während sich die Stadt drumherum stetig gewandelt hat, blieb hier in einigen Straßenzügen das historische Bild erhalten. Für viele ist das ehemalige Bauernhaus eines der schönsten Häuser.

Auffällig ist das unverputzte Fachwerk mit den roten Ziegeln und hellen Hölzern. Um diesen Charme zu erhalten und dennoch im Inneren Räume zu schaffen, die der neuen Nutzung sowie modernen baulichen Anforderungen gerecht werden, wurde eine Innendämmung aus Claytec Pavadentro Holzweichfaserplatten und Lehmkleber sowie Lehmputz verwendet.

Die Platten werden mit dem Kleber vollflächig auf die Innenwand aufgeklebt und verdübelt. Die biegsamen Platten eigenen sich besonders für Fachwerkkonstruktionen. Anschließend erhält die Oberfläche einen Lehmputz inklusive Armierung aus Flachsgewebe.

Die nicht gedämmten Innenwände wurden im Café mit Claytec Lehm-Unterputz mit Stroh sowie mit einem Claytec Lehm-Oberputz fein verputzt. Alternativ wurde Lehmputz Mineral 20 verwendet. Er ist Grund- und Deckputz in einem.

Details zum Objekt:

Objekt auf der Karte

Teilen Sie Ihre Erfahrungen zu diesem Objekt:


Weitere Objekte in dieser Region:

Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen

Mehr Informationen zu den Baustoffen anfordern

  • Feine Oberflächen
    Innendämmung
    Lehmputz
Bitte bestätigen Sie, dass wir Ihnen Informationen zusenden sollen.