Al Jahili Fort

Zurück zur ÜbersichtBack to overview

Al Jahili Fort

Earthen-clay building-culture in its purest form

Al Ain and Abu Dhabi are 140 kilometres, a deserted desert, and architectural worlds apart. While Abu Dhabi on the Persian Gulf shines with a glittering skyline and modern architecture, the former oasis city of Al Ain impresses with green parks and historic clay-earth architecture. A visit to the former Al Jahili Fort completes the picture of building culture in this part of the world and will permanently change your view on building with earthen clay.

Mass protects – massive earthen building as a defensive structure

Al Jahili Fort – built in 1891 – is the most famous fortification in the United Arab Emirates. Metre-high crenelated clay-earth walls, round watchtowers and a mighty wooden gate protect a huge courtyard. Inside, along the thick walls, various buildings’ wings are arranged.

Behind these massive walls, one could feel safe. This protection was necessary because the fort secured access to water sources – a rare commodity in the desert.

Preserving architectural culture – a modern museum in a historic fort

Today, you will find another treasure in Al Jahili Fort: the photo collection of the British travel writer and photographer Wilfried Thesiger, who travelled the Arabian Peninsula in the 1940s.

For the conversion into a museum, the historic earthen-clay building had to be renovated. Responsible for planning this renovation was the Berlin architectural office Roswag & Jankowski Architekten. So that visitors can experience the fort today in its historical form, only clay and palm wood were used – just as they were when it was built.

Presenting art – sophisticated interiors with clay walls

Inside, too, you experience purely earthen-clay construction – because the existing clay plaster could be reused. It was removed, rewetted, and reapplied. This ability to be directly recycled is a great advantage of earthen building materials.

Hidden under the clay plaster, a modern cold-water cooling system ensures the right room temperature and the protection of the antique photos. In combination with the solid clay-earth walls and modern solar-protective glass, the room temperature remains constant.

The colour scheme of the rooms is also coordinated with the black-and-white photos. The light grey colour of the clay design plaster harmonises perfectly with the barite photo prints. In these photos, a nomadic culture is depicted that no longer exists today. This makes Al Jahili Fort all the more important as an architectural witness to the Arab past.

Read more »

Clay Highlight:

Continuing quality – Claytec earthen building materials for cultural locations

More than 100 years after its construction, the earthen-clay architecture of Al Jahili Fort has lost none of its quality. On the contrary – the architecture was easily adapted to different use and modern needs using the same building materials. Would this also be possible with Abu Dhabi’s high-rise buildings made of concrete, steel and glass?

During the renovation, the old clay plaster was reused. Unlike in the past, however, the clay plaster was not smoothed with the hands but with straightedges. The light grey colour of the YOSIMA clay design plaster used also differs from the original.

The new colour, however, has another important model: the Kolumba Museum in Cologne. The architect Peter Zumthor had it developed especially for the prominent new museum building. As with all 146 shades of YOSIMA clay designer plaster, only coloured clays were used to create the custom shade. An art in itself.

Details:

Location on the map

Share what you experienced during your visit:


Other suggestions in this region:

Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen

Request more information on the building materials

  • Fine-Finish Surfaces
    Clay Plaster
Please confirm that we should send you information.

Fort al Jahili

Zurück zur ÜbersichtZurück zur Übersicht

Fort al Jahili

Lehmbauhochkultur in Reinform

Al Ain und Abu Dhabi trennen 140 Autokilometer, eine menschenleere Wüste und architektonische Welten. Während Abu Dhabi am Persischen Golf mit glitzernder Skyline und moderner Stararchitektur glänzt, beeindruckt die ehemaligen Oasenstadt Al Ain mit grünen Parks und historischer Lehmarchitektur. Ein Besuch des ehemaligen Fort Al Jahili macht ihr Bild der Baukultur in diesem Teil der Welt komplett und wird Ihre Sicht auf Lehmbau nachhaltig verändern.

Masse schützt – massiver Lehmbau als Verteidigungsbauwerk

Das Fort Al Jahili – errichtet 1891 – ist die bekannteste Festungsanlage der Vereinigten Arabischen Emirate. Meterhohe, zinnenbewehrte Lehmwände, rund Wachtürme und ein mächtiges Holztor schützen einen riesigen Hof. Im Inneren sind entlang der dicken Mauern unterschiedliche Gebäudeflügel angeordnet.

Hinter diesen Mauern konnte man sich sicher fühlen. Der Schutz war notwendig, denn das Fort sicherte den Zugang zu Wasserquellen – ein rares Gut in der Wüste.

Baukultur erhalten – modernes Museum in historischem Fort

Heute finden Sie im Fort Al Jahili einen anderen Schatz: die Fotosammlung des britischen Reiseschriftstellers und Fotografens Wilfried Thesiger, der in den 1940er Jahren die arabische Halbinsel bereiste.

Für die Umgestaltung in ein Museum musste der historische Lehmbau instandgesetzt werden. Verantwortlich dafür war das Berliner Architekturbüro Roswag & Jankowski Architekten. Damit Sie heute das Fort in seiner historischen Gestalt erleben können, wurde ausschließlich Lehm und Palmholz verwendet – wie auch zu Zeiten der Errichtung.

Kunst präsentieren – anspruchsvolle Innenräume mit Lehmwänden

Auch im Inneren erleben Sie Lehmbau pur – denn der vorhanden Lehmputz konnte wiederverwendet werden. Er wurde abgetragen, eingesumpft und wieder aufgebracht. Dieses gleichwertige Recycling ist ein großer Vorteil von Lehmbaustoffen.

Unter dem Lehmputz verborgen sorgt eine moderne Kaltwasserkühlung für die richtige Raumtemperatur und den Schutz der wertvollen Fotos. In Kombination mit den massiven Lehmwänden und modernen Sonnenschutzgläsern bleibt die Raumtemperatur konstant.

Auch die Farbgebung der Räume ist auf die Schwarz-Weiß-Fotos abgestimmt. Der hellgraue Farbton des Lehm-Designputzes harmoniert perfekt mit den Barytabzügen der Fotos. Auf ihnen entdecken Sie eine Nomadenkultur, die so heute nicht mehr existiert. Umso wichtiger ist das Fort Al Jahili als baukulturelles Zeugnis der arabischen Vergangenheit.

Mehr lesen »

Lehm-Besonderheit:

Qualität weiterführen – Lehmbaustoffe von CLAYTEC für Orte der Kultur

Über 100 Jahre nach seiner Errichtung hat die Lehmarchitektur des Fort Al Jahili nichts von ihrer Qualität eingebüßt. Im Gegenteil – sie konnte mit dem gleichen Baustoff problemlos an eine andere Nutzung und moderne Bedürfnisse angepasst werden. Ob das auch mit Abu Dhabis Hochhäusern aus Beton, Stahl und Glas funktionieren wird?

Im Rahmen der Renovierung konnte der alte Lehmputz wiederverwendet werden. Anders als beim historischen Bauprozess wurde er jedoch nicht mit den Händen, sondern mit Richtscheiten glattgezogen. Auch die hellgraue Farbe es verwendeten YOSIMA Lehm-Designputz weicht vom Original ab.

Der besondere Farbton hat aber ein anders bedeutendes Vorbild: Das Kolumba Museum in Köln. Der Architekt Peter Zumthor ließ ihn eigens für den herausragenden Museumsneubau entwickeln. Wie alle 146 Farbtöne des YOSIMA Lehm-Designputz wurden dafür ausschließlich farbige Tonerden verwendet. Eine Kunst für sich.

Details zum Objekt:

Kommentar verfassen

Objekt auf der Karte

Schreibe einen Kommentar:


Weitere Objekte in Ihrer Region:

Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen
Modal schliessen

Mehr Informationen zu den Baustoffen anfordern

  • Feine Oberflächen
    Lehmputz
Bitte bestätigen Sie, dass wir Ihnen Informationen zusenden sollen.